Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 17, 2010 | 11:49 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place January 20, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Ok people this is it!! The biggest poke battle you'll ever see! forget the turns, forget the "Charizard use WATER GUN!!! Let's just throw the damn pokeballs and let all our Pokémon do the talking!

BTW: This is my second ever flash, I only started using CS3 flash in early 2009 so don't be expecting a masterpiece here :P

(Pokemon The Fated Encounter is complete!! so what are you waiting for? go and see it :)

(UPDATE*1) Black boarders inserted incase of over enlargement
(UPDATE*2) Minor graphical issue changes
(UPDATE*3) Sync issue resolved

Ok an explanation into why I made this: Since I've been navigating newgrounds I noticed the Pokémon section titled "kill all the Pokémon" or something like that and not many people liking Pokémon. But I noticed there is actually a large poke fan-base here so I wanted to see in my ability what I can contribute to them. Although I myself not a fan of Pokémon and never really was, I also don't hate it, why should I hate it? Just admit to yourselves that everyone use to like poke at one point of their life hence me making this, so sit back and enjoy the murkage.

(EDIT: Sorry about the dodgy artwork I'm really shite at drawing pokemon, so bare with me and try and watch thanks :)

(Anyways back to this! yes in the video the Pokémon do more than four moves each, but however I have done my research on their attacks on that bulbapedia wiki (very helpful poke wiki :) So no problems here with fake attacks (Steelix doing thunderbolt or something Oo)

Runtime- 3:45 mins (Battle scene duration)
Frame Rate- AS3 20fps = AS2 24fps
Symbol Count- 845!! O_o
Production Time of Flash- 20 days
P.S I never again shah publish in AS3! what a nightmare! Just to make a button? (Again sorry for filesize, I've got two unstreamed mp3s in this submission which adds on a gazillion more MBs :P

??????: Spot the mystery pokemon in the flash, hehe :)
and hope you enjoy or enjoyed the cataclysmic battle! as the marines would say "ooOORAH!!!" XD

Reviews


skullznshit3000skullznshit3000

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 20, 2010

Frusteration

I wanted so badly to give you 5/5 and 10/10. I just couldn't get over the bad drawing. It ruined it for me. However, to show I did appreciate the flash, let me point out everything I liked about it.

1.) Great choice of pokemon.
I get tired of seeing legionaries destroying continents in their battle. I also get tired of seeing boring pokemon being glorified by into something they are not.

Sizzor and Steelix are both EPIC pokemon that do not get enough credit. Dragonite and Charizard are kind of pushing the line a bit, but you at least represented them better then most. EG: Dragonite = Mystical and Charizard = Thin! Good job on that.

2.) Great music and voice acting.
Assuming you did the voice acting of course.
Though you could have equalized the music a bit, so it wasn't so distorted, it was still a good choice for this because it was original for this kind of video and didn't suck either. In fact, it rocked!

3.) Animation
EXCELLENT!!! I couldn't have asked for better. You really have a sense of scene work. ( I actually don't know if that's the right terminology or not but w/e ). All I know is that you captured so many details and frames that many people wouldn't have bothered with. What I am saying is that all the extra work was noticed here. =)

... Unfortunately, the art was just sub par. And I don't mean to sound like an ass, but I think I would have to say that it was actually like... really bad.. =/
Bad enough to make the whole thing hard to watch at least. And because o this, I just couldn't give you a max vote. Sorry : <

P.S. Would the "mystery pokemon" that you were talking about in the comment section be Rayquaza?

P.P.S. I really liked the part somewhere in the middle of the flash when the music went all slow after Sizzor got smacked down and then the scene switches to Charizard trying to get some space between himself and Dragonite


Tyrant-D responds:

Thanks for the constructive response! Ok about the artwork.. you really think it is that bad? I honestly don't understand why some folks here don't like my style of art. Everyone here on newgrounds has their own style, and this is simply mine.

I will never change it, I myself actually find the artwork the best thing about this. Honestly detailing every aspect of each pokemon and trainer took the most time of the production of this flash. Ok another thing which is a pure fact. IF THIS WERE a comedy, the artwork catagory would never come into the equation. MOST comedies on NG are badly drawn, not all but most. And yet they still get 10/10 5/5 mega high scores and shit. Really I just find that double standards if you ask me. And a very cheap way of getting awards only by laughter and not skill. But however I still admire most, THAT'S only IF! I laugh myself XD

Anyways I like to keep things simple, this ain't a art show, its just an action pack battle. Thank you for your opinion :)


MistaradraxMistaradrax

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 22, 2010

Startlingly good!

Alright, the animation on this isn't top-notch. And I can't help but feel that a few of the attacks were a bit overdone for which attack you're claiming is used (That Rock Throw, for instance, looked big enough easily to be a Rock Slide) but you know what? No bones need be made about this- you profess not to be a fan, from which I figure you haven't played it much- at least, not recently.

All told, this is an excellent animation- a cinematic battle, good music, a fight that's not all one-sided, some surprisingly believable moves on the part of the participants- and excellent battle choreography.

Work a bit on your drawing skills and animating, and you could easily pull a ten out of something like this.

Also- I agree. It's very nice to see something that's not poke-hate but also not just sort of generally crummy. There's very little of that around, and I really appreciate the effort you put to bring this out for everyone- I hope everyone else does too.


People find this review helpful!

RedGamer11477RedGamer11477

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 13, 2014

the drawing is somewhat bad, but the rest... i.. i cant explain it to say how awesome it is.. i just cant.



killor5killor5

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 18, 2010

good try

that was really good except the animation is kinda awkword


Tyrant-D responds:

awkward? in what way? well like I said before my animation can't please all :)


PestilensenPestilensen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 17, 2010

Now thats how pokemon should be

This is what pokemon is lacking.
Id watch pokemon EVERY FREAKING DAY if it were like this.
Nice and good action packed video, there were a couple/(tons) of flaws that caught my eye the 2nd time i watched it, and yet the "plot", motion and crash/bang/pew/roar sounds made me watch it a 3rd time
9/10
4/5 - GJ man :D