Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 15, 2010 | 5:23 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 16, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place January 20, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I've noticed a pattern with my flash cartoons. I start off saying, "I'm just gonna make it simple, finish it and get it on newgrounds." Then somehow I end up loading it with detail, and making life miserable for myself, and usually never finish. That was only partly true in the case of this movie. I started off simple, and then it became a hurricane of detail and complication. (I think it'll become pretty obvious where I lost my mind in this movie...)

The difference here is that, first of all, I finished this one. And second, I had an absolute blast making this. This stands, unequivocally, as my proudest work to date. I put an assload of hours into this thing, but I loved every minute of it, and I think it shows through in the animation. This contains some of the best frame-by-frame work I've ever done, in my humble opinion.

I hope you enjoy it.

And to help you enjoy it, I took the liberty of including some playback controls! In the lower left corner of the screen are simple Stop and Play buttons, as well as Previous Frame, and Next Frame buttons. I always wish more flash authors did this, because I enjoy studying each individual frame of the animation so I can see how it all comes together. When the thing's buzzing by at 30 frames per second, its easy to miss all the little details. So take your time and go through it. And if you end up learning something from what you see, well I just couldn't be a happier donkey with a bazooka... or whatever the hell my username means...

This is my first cartoon in what will hopefully be a strong year for me on Newgrounds. My 2009 submissions were an embarrassment... all one of them. This won't be my only submission this year, I promise. And now I've got almost a full 12 months to break that promise!

EDIT: Y'know, I think I've gotta say something. I am BLOOOWN AWAY by the success of this movie. I never imagined getting a score as high as this, and so many positive reviews. And the awards?! There was some massively tough competition last week. Really, thanks a ton for all your kindness, everyone. I want you to know that I do read every review, even if I don't post a response to every one of them. By the way, who are Calvin and Hobbes?

Reviews


Flared24Flared24

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2010

lmao

that was great



SeanJon10SeanJon10

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2010

Lol reminds me of....

This reminded me of Calvin and Hobbes, that kid looked like a dark haired Calvin.
EXCELLENT flash though. I'm proud of you kid! *snif*



BouncyPiglettBouncyPiglett

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2010

Lul. Reminds me heavily of Calvin and Hobbes.

And what a genius idea.
Such a perversion of the innocence of snow is absolutely poetic and just downright silly.



PrincessLylesPrincessLyles

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2010

Perfect

This was perfect... but did he die or what?


DonkeysBazooka responds:

why does everyone want to know if he's dead or not? no, he's just fine. he survived and returned home, free to pursue a love of religious fulfillment.


FreyasDaughterFreyasDaughter

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 9, 2010

Awesome

I loved how the music was completely at odds with the storyline. Awesome flash. The boy kinda did remind me of Calvin from Calvin and Hobbes.

Calvin and Hobbes are a 6 year old little boy (Calvin) and his stuffed tiger (Hobbes) who talks to him. They often have conversations of a philosophical nature, hence why Hobbes is named Hobbes. (FYI: Thomas Hobbes (5 April 1588 - 4 December 1679) was an English philosopher known for his 1651 book Leviathan, which established the foundation for most of Western political philosophy from the perspective of social contract theory. Hobbes the tiger is nothing like Hobbes the philosopher. The tiger is an Existentialist whilst the man is a Materialist. There's your Philosophy lesson for the day.) It's a pretty deep comic strip. You should read it.


DonkeysBazooka responds:

i have every calvin and hobbes book ever published. i was joking about not knowing them