Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 8, 2010 | 11:24 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 9, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 12, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A Music video for the song "A Letter from God to Man" By Dan Le Sac Vs. Scroobius Pip.
This was done for my Media A2 practical.

Comments are greatly appreciated. Enjoy!

[EDIT!] There be a youtube version now!
The quality is a bit lower and there a bit of desync, but the quality of sound is better!
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=x5e_vNNkbCI

[EDIT 2!] Alrighty! So I swapped the old swf for one with a bit better sound quality! Hope you enjoy!

[EDIT 3!] heres the lyrics!

~*~

Hey There, how, how's it going?
Long time no see.
I know I haven't been around much lately
But...it didn't seem like you wanted me to be
The last time I sent down a message you nailed it to the cross
So I figured I'd just leave you to it, let you be your own boss

But I've been keeping an eye on you, I have,
and it's amazing how you've grown.
With your technological advances and the problems you've overthrown,
And all the beautiful art you've created with such grace and such finesse,
But I admit there are a few things I'm afraid have impressed me less.

So I'm writing to apologize for all the horrors committed in my name,
Although that was never what I intended,
I feel I should take my share of the blame.
All the good I tried to do was corrupted
when organised religion got into full swing,
What I thought were quite clear messages were taken to unusual extremes.
My teachings taken out of context to meet the agendas of others,
Interpretations taken to many different ways and hidden meanings discovered

Religion became a tool, for the weak to control the strong
With all these new morals and ethics, survival of the fittest was gone
No longer could the biggest man simply take whatever he needed
'cause damnation was the price if certain rules were not heeded
Some of the deeds committed in my name
just made me wonder were I went wrong.
Back at the start when I created this, the foundation seemed so strong.
See all the elements were already here, long before I began,
I just kind of put it all together
I didn't really think out a long-term plan.

I made the sun an appropriate distance and laid the stars across the sky
So you could navigate the globe or simply watch the sun rise
I covered the earth with plants and fruits,
Some for sustenance and some for beauty
I made the sun shine and the clouds rain
so their maintenance wasn't your duty
I tried to give each creature its own attributes
without making them enveloped
I gave you all you all your own space to
grow and in your own way space to develop

I didn't know such development would cause rifts and jealousy
Cause you to war against each other and leave marks on this planet indelibly
You see, I wasn't really the creater, I was just the curator of nature
I want to get something straight with homosexuals right now: I don't hate ya
I was a simple being that happened to be the first to wield such powers
I just laid the ground, it was You that built the towers

It was You that invented bombs, and the fear that comes with them
And it was You that invented money, and the corrupt economic systems
You invented terms like just-war and terms like friendly fire
And it was You that didn't know
when to stop digging deeper, when to stop building higher
It was You that exhausted the resources I carefully laid out on this earth,
And it was You that even saw these
problems coming but accredited them little worth
It was You that used my teachings for your own personal gain
And it was You that committed such tragedies,
even though they were in my name

So I apologize for any mistakes I made, and when my words misconstrued
But this apology's to mother nature, cause I created you!
~*~

[EDIT 4!] Holy shit daily second!? Thank you!
[EDIT 5!] AND WEEKLY SECOND?!...!?!?!

Reviews


FxmouslxstwordsFxmouslxstwords

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 16, 2010

Interesting

You chose a very interesting song, but the animation with it wasn't exactly elegant. I admire the simplicity of message and the way it was synced, but I feel like you could have done more.


People find this review helpful!
Lankie responds:

Yea, I really should of, I mean I had a time limit for this so i couldn't of made it as beautiful as I wanted to, but there are definately some parts where I've been lazy.
Thanks for review!


Gengar3084Gengar3084

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 21, 2010

Ok flash, but....

Im a little disturbed by what I saw and I think that you are just trying to reach out to someone. I think that you see a counselor and that you should talk to him because I was very diesturbed by the guns killing everyone signifying our own thoughts.



RyonaRaineRyonaRaine

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 13, 2010

Good message, but bad delivery...

Your patriachal god did not create Mother Nature. "Mother Nature" is bigger than some white-bearded god created by men a few thousand years ago. "Mother Nature" is not only the power and essense of natural phenomena on Earth, but also the power and essense of natural and supernatural phenomena within and of the Cosmos... The Mother Goddess of all, which was purposely deminished as just "Mother Nature" some couple hundred years ago by the oppressive hand of the patriarchal church.

The fact that the letter is addressed to "man" is an example of the patriarchy propaganda forced upon us by such patriarchy cults (Christianity for example).
So I will ignore this video message, as it was not adressed to women as well.
Next time, if you want to adress everyone on the planet and not just one specific gender, us the term "Humans". Yes, it's a real word. Wiki it.

I gave you a decent score for the time and effort in the project. That is all.


Lankie responds:

Hey, I didn't write the song, I just maybe the moving pictures infront of it. ( :


sutikurusutikuru

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 13, 2010

religion

im not sure if this was made for the right reasons if your making fun of god and rreligion the n screw ya but if your doing this to show man is a n ass even though god gave us all these wonderful things then ok. since i aint sure ill give ya 5 of 10 and remember god gave his only son and that son died for our sins so be thankful all u ungrateful azzez out there!!!!!!!!!!!!


Lankie responds:

Well...technically I made this for school, I needed a music video with a powerful message, this seemed suitable enough!


jamiewalkerjamiewalker

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 14, 2010

Great song, moderate animation

I loved that song, listened to it again? Yes!!
Some parts of the animation where clever with that new style of camera twist with words mixed with symbols. If anyone knows the show "Hungry Beast" from Aus, they use allot of it, its very good and powerful. However, some parts of this seemed very lazy, the parts where the red text came up seemed scribbled, and not in the way it was intended.

Overall good stuff man!!


People find this review helpful!
Lankie responds:

Totally agrees on that! I need to work on my animation skillz (im so cool using z instead of s...)