Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 8, 2010 | 11:24 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 9, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 12, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A Music video for the song "A Letter from God to Man" By Dan Le Sac Vs. Scroobius Pip.
This was done for my Media A2 practical.

Comments are greatly appreciated. Enjoy!

[EDIT!] There be a youtube version now!
The quality is a bit lower and there a bit of desync, but the quality of sound is better!
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=x5e_vNNkbCI

[EDIT 2!] Alrighty! So I swapped the old swf for one with a bit better sound quality! Hope you enjoy!

[EDIT 3!] heres the lyrics!

~*~

Hey There, how, how's it going?
Long time no see.
I know I haven't been around much lately
But...it didn't seem like you wanted me to be
The last time I sent down a message you nailed it to the cross
So I figured I'd just leave you to it, let you be your own boss

But I've been keeping an eye on you, I have,
and it's amazing how you've grown.
With your technological advances and the problems you've overthrown,
And all the beautiful art you've created with such grace and such finesse,
But I admit there are a few things I'm afraid have impressed me less.

So I'm writing to apologize for all the horrors committed in my name,
Although that was never what I intended,
I feel I should take my share of the blame.
All the good I tried to do was corrupted
when organised religion got into full swing,
What I thought were quite clear messages were taken to unusual extremes.
My teachings taken out of context to meet the agendas of others,
Interpretations taken to many different ways and hidden meanings discovered

Religion became a tool, for the weak to control the strong
With all these new morals and ethics, survival of the fittest was gone
No longer could the biggest man simply take whatever he needed
'cause damnation was the price if certain rules were not heeded
Some of the deeds committed in my name
just made me wonder were I went wrong.
Back at the start when I created this, the foundation seemed so strong.
See all the elements were already here, long before I began,
I just kind of put it all together
I didn't really think out a long-term plan.

I made the sun an appropriate distance and laid the stars across the sky
So you could navigate the globe or simply watch the sun rise
I covered the earth with plants and fruits,
Some for sustenance and some for beauty
I made the sun shine and the clouds rain
so their maintenance wasn't your duty
I tried to give each creature its own attributes
without making them enveloped
I gave you all you all your own space to
grow and in your own way space to develop

I didn't know such development would cause rifts and jealousy
Cause you to war against each other and leave marks on this planet indelibly
You see, I wasn't really the creater, I was just the curator of nature
I want to get something straight with homosexuals right now: I don't hate ya
I was a simple being that happened to be the first to wield such powers
I just laid the ground, it was You that built the towers

It was You that invented bombs, and the fear that comes with them
And it was You that invented money, and the corrupt economic systems
You invented terms like just-war and terms like friendly fire
And it was You that didn't know
when to stop digging deeper, when to stop building higher
It was You that exhausted the resources I carefully laid out on this earth,
And it was You that even saw these
problems coming but accredited them little worth
It was You that used my teachings for your own personal gain
And it was You that committed such tragedies,
even though they were in my name

So I apologize for any mistakes I made, and when my words misconstrued
But this apology's to mother nature, cause I created you!
~*~

[EDIT 4!] Holy shit daily second!? Thank you!
[EDIT 5!] AND WEEKLY SECOND?!...!?!?!

Reviews


ShaedeShaede

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 13, 2010

I usually don't review this sort of thing.

Stylistically, it was very good. The music and animation were also enjoyable. On the surface, the message was fairly decent. I suppose that's where my problem lies, and I'm not going to really explain it here much, except to say that any deeper meaning in this song would be quite warped and twisted and by no means good.

Nonetheless, I enjoy it when flash artists have something to say and use Newgrounds as a medium for that expression, even if what is being said might have unforeseen implications buried in them.


Lankie responds:

hmm interesting! Thanks for the review!


bmxdudleydobmxdudleydo

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 20, 2010

I like it....

It was an OK music video. Though the animation wasnt the best, it was a great choice of song, and good style of animation to put it in.

BUT THIS IS THE REASON IM RATING IT A SEVEN!
What most people dont know is that you did not make then music. Lots of peoplem think that YOU made this video, and THAT this is your band. You clearly put it in that start of the video, but people ignored to lookup the band and find out it wasnt your music.

So i am rating this video on the animation, not the music.


People find this review helpful!
Lankie responds:

Tottaly justified and understandable! Thanks!


Max07Max07

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 14, 2010

Good, but not enough

It was very good though. However there are some mistakes in the song,I will resume it like this: GOD DOESN'T COMMIT MISTAKES and JESUS WAS SUPPOSE TO BE NAILED TO THE CROSS; JUST READ THE BIBLE OR ASK A PRIEST.

Questions? ask me ;)


Lankie responds:

kk, thanks!


Blackfoxtl3Blackfoxtl3

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 17, 2010

Point taken...

I am by far not the biggest fan of religion... i will say that right now... But... there are a lot of good points. What it lacks in visual it makes up in the deepness of the message.


Lankie responds:

Cheers! I'll try to improve my Flash-iness in future animations! :D


SchalehSchaleh

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2010

My interpretation of A Letter From God..

The way I see it, God would say this:
Be deluded and live a chaotic and unethical life,
so that when you succumb to your death,
I can assimilate you through your fantasys,
and feed off your insatiable thirst for revenge,
for the sheer embarrassment of your forms of ego.

To someone who wants to live in the after-life for all eternity, naturally the message will come across in terms of their honor. Mediums always live a lifestyle of presumption to understand themselves to be good and deserving. It's a terribly intellectual brilliancy to bring the world to collapse and die under a delusion so that it may center its entirety on reliance of a perfect reality governed exclusively by God.