Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 6, 2010 | 9:54 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 7, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Bridging the Gap 5 Points Pass level 1
Withered Away 5 Points Succumb to the clutches of death
Logically Delicious 25 Points Pass level 6
Master of Mysteries 25 Points Pass level 9
Naturally Talented 25 Points Pass levels 1-3
Undeterred 25 Points Pass any level other than 7 without getting hurt
Demon Dodger 50 Points Pass level 7 without getting hurt
Spacetime Traveler 50 Points Pass levels 6-9 with a combined time under 20 minutes
Speedy Runner 50 Points Pass levels 1-5 with a combined time under 20 minutes
Embracer of Paradoxes 100 Points Pass all levels with a combined time under 19 minutes

Author Comments

Here's our Power of Three 2009 submission. Get ready to earn yourself some medals!

Master the worlds of Nature, Technology and the Supernatural and discover the meaning of the Paradox in this huge puzzle platformer. Watch out for roaming demons and mech bugs while you navigate the dynamic levels and uncover the purpose of the mysterious Changers. Try to figure out why things are never quite what you remember them being and use this knowledge to make your way through the world and confront the shadowy figure that keeps you from unlocking your full potential. Sponsored by Newgrounds.com and created by EntropicOrder.net, Zeebarf.com and Diverge.ws.

INSTRUCTIONS:
Arrows or WASD to move, Up/W to jump, Down/S to use Changers or lower the camera. Avoid running into enemies or falling into bottomless pits. Find the trophy in each level to advance to the next. Wait a moment next to keys, doors or bridges for a hint on how to proceed. Ghosted keys cannot be picked up until you use the required Changer. Try completing levels faster for special medals. Getting hurt adds 10 seconds to the clock so watch out!

TIPS:
- The game is very tall, so press F11 to make your browser full-screen if the top or bottom is cutoff for you.
- The game's dynamic platforming engine may require you to lower the quality setting to improve performance on slower computers. Press the Q in the lower left corner to toggle between high, medium and low quality.
- Most earned medals will appear once you return to the map.
- Your progress will be saved in a Flash cookie so you can return to the site where you played the game before and pick up where you left off.

UPDATES:
- 1/25/10 - There seems to be a problem with FireFox crashing with the latest version, though it works fine on IE. I'm looking into the problem and will release an update as soon as it's fixed.
- 1/8/10 - Version 1.41 fixes a problem that prevented players without a soundcard from being able to get passed the instructions or intro screens. Thanks goes to VengfuL for taking a couple hours out of his day to help me track this one down! Couldn't have done it without you! FYI to Flash developers, Sound.play() returns null if there's no sound card. :)
- 1/7/10 - Version 1.32 is live and should fix the following: Intermittently the player will fall through the floor on some computers but not others.

Reviews


SinisterniikSinisterniik

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2010

Great Game!

This is a perfect example of a well constructed platformer/puzzle game. The levels progress quite naturally, each one just a little bit more complex than the last. Thanks for the submission!

I did encounter one glitch on stage 3, where I fell through one of the bridges on the very bottom of the screen when I jumped. I was very near the next platform, so I suspect I fell through the invisible gap between the bridge and the platform.


People find this review helpful!
EntropicOrder responds:

That's a relief, because I actually was worried about the level progression a bit. I tried my best to pace them well enough, but because each level was designed around a theme tied to an specific ordered location on the map I couldn't rearrange them even if I wanted to so it worked out in the end I guess.

I'm not sure about the glitch you found. I thought I had everything fixed up but it sounds like that's not the case. Hopefully it doesn't occur too often because it's really hard to track down problems like that without a debug log so I might not be able to catch that one!


OneLonelyPickleOneLonelyPickle

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 6, 2010

Awesome game,not my cup of tea, but that's fine.

Although this particular genre wasn't my forte, I still thought this game was perfectly made in terms of sound, interactivity, challenge, graphics, instructions and I found no flaws with the game. For all people who love platformers, this game will entertain limitlessly, of course until they beat the game and subsequently all the puzzles. For all others, it is a good game which can be completed in a day with enough patience and elbow grease. Great game you guys, I'll keep my eyes open for the sequel!


EntropicOrder responds:

I'm glad you can appreciate what we're going for even if casual puzzle platforming isn't your thing. :) Cheers!


HolyFudgeBarHolyFudgeBar

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 6, 2010

Great Game

This was a great game but the animation just didn't feel right.


EntropicOrder responds:

Hmmm, wonder what would have made it feel right for you? Looks like you'll just have to get your animation cup of tea on down the street then.


scoobed99scoobed99

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2010

awesome...walking problem

game is awesome enough said...regarding walking problem with dorpsgek92...this has happened to me in many a flash games. For some reason the key gets stuck in a never ending loop inside the game, but if you click outside the game somewhere that you can type, say the address bar on the browser, and start typing something it will stop the problem once you click back inside the game...thus...the problem may not be with the game but perhaps flash itself....I used to have to completely exit the browser and start the game anew, but this trick works. Anyone know why this happens????


EntropicOrder responds:

Thanks for the info. I have never seen this personally myself with this game, so it must be some OS/browser/plugin version combination causing the problem or something.


SpliboSplibo

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2010

NIOCE! lol

THis game is amazing... I love you man. lol. I use a laptop more than a desktop and i finally have an awesome game i can play without having to buy a wireless mouse!!!! Controls are amazing and they dont mess up on you giving you a relaxing state of not worrying about your guy going the wrong way! If i could tell you a bad thing i would but so far it suits all my needs!


EntropicOrder responds:

Awesome! I definitely think games should stick as much as possible to either completely keyboard controlled or completely mouse controlled, or at least a comfortable mix like WASD+mouse. I tried to make this a completely keyboard driven game (you can press space to pass the preloader and main menu). As far as responsiveness, I did add a bit of momentum so he doesn't stop on a dime, but its only a small amount so it's not too easy to slip off of a ledge. I'm happy to hear you noticed what I was shooting for.