Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2009 | 3:26 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Synopsis: Embark on an epic journey in this fast-paced, side-scrolling action RPG.

Phew... It's been nearly 18 months since I started working on Soul Arms and now it's finally complete! =D I hope you guys enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoy making it!

Controls

In-game:
Move Left: Left Arrow Key
Move Right: Right Arrow Key
Back Dash: Up Arrow Key
Crouch/Pick up Items: Down Arrow Key
Attack: A Key
Jump: S Key
Equip Skill: E Key
Use Skill: D Key
Shadow Steps (Lv.4 Skill): SPACE+Left or Right Arrow Key
Soul Burst: Z Key
Soul Blast: X Key
Items: Number Keys
Pause Menu: P Key

Result Screen:
-Press Space to view result immediately.

During Event:
-Press Space to advance dialogue.
-Press Enter to skip scene.

Hints
-You learn a new skill every time you level up, so when you level up remember to check the pause menu for your new skills, they can really come in handy and help you get through some of the more difficult levels.
-Mouse over the items to view their descriptions.
-Beat the game once to unlock survival mode.
-Beat the game once to unlock the summon item (item #4).

Known Bugs
-Throwing knives can't hit aerial targets.

Other notes
-You may report any other bugs directly to me at magnaarts@gmail.com

Kenxeus found a critical bug that prevented him from beating the assassin boss. The problem seemed to be related to my encryption software that's making certain codes unusable.

*Update - 29/12/09 The game just got updated! The bug's fixed :D
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.2 with several bug fixes.
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.22 - Moved the save button to a more prominent position and corrected some typos in stage 1 and 3. If you notice any more bugs or typos please let me know so I can fix them.
*Update - 2/1/10 Released Soul Arms version 1.25 - added squire mode.

p/s Thanks for playing!

Reviews


CGeorge57CGeorge57

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 3, 2010

Cool...

But it gets pretty repetitive. Maybe add more to the combat and graphics.


People find this review helpful!

bleachgodbleachgod

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 3, 2010

Fun.....

i liked the graphics and storyline, but the gameplay just got really repetative i think. a great idea, and i think it could be improved. a fun time nonetheless. looking forward to a sequel


People find this review helpful!

Superfries0Superfries0

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 3, 2010

Not bad, not bad at all ;)

It was a boring sunday... So i logged in to Newgrounds and went to the Gamespage :P.
This sidescrolling rpg is maybe the best one i've seen so far. A constructed story, not bad graphics, skills. I've played the whole thing in about an hour and 20 minutes and I really enjoyed it. To bad I'll have to wait quite a bit for the sequel .... :P :(


People find this review helpful!

shatteredreamershatteredreamer

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 3, 2010

alo

This is actually kind of neat since I am a fan of RPGs. I think that the story line could have been delivered a little more interestingly. But when speaking about overall game play it was pretty good and i enjoyed it. I think you should make some more, and I'm looking forward to what you release in the future. Kudos 5/5 8/10


People find this review helpful!

TwilightkittenTwilightkitten

Rated 2 / 5 stars January 3, 2010

Good looking but not really good.

The idea and the design aren't bad. But a bug like that one with the ghost boss, where you slide over the egde and can't move anymore, shouldn't happen.


People find this review helpful!