Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2009 | 3:26 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Synopsis: Embark on an epic journey in this fast-paced, side-scrolling action RPG.

Phew... It's been nearly 18 months since I started working on Soul Arms and now it's finally complete! =D I hope you guys enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoy making it!

Controls

In-game:
Move Left: Left Arrow Key
Move Right: Right Arrow Key
Back Dash: Up Arrow Key
Crouch/Pick up Items: Down Arrow Key
Attack: A Key
Jump: S Key
Equip Skill: E Key
Use Skill: D Key
Shadow Steps (Lv.4 Skill): SPACE+Left or Right Arrow Key
Soul Burst: Z Key
Soul Blast: X Key
Items: Number Keys
Pause Menu: P Key

Result Screen:
-Press Space to view result immediately.

During Event:
-Press Space to advance dialogue.
-Press Enter to skip scene.

Hints
-You learn a new skill every time you level up, so when you level up remember to check the pause menu for your new skills, they can really come in handy and help you get through some of the more difficult levels.
-Mouse over the items to view their descriptions.
-Beat the game once to unlock survival mode.
-Beat the game once to unlock the summon item (item #4).

Known Bugs
-Throwing knives can't hit aerial targets.

Other notes
-You may report any other bugs directly to me at magnaarts@gmail.com

Kenxeus found a critical bug that prevented him from beating the assassin boss. The problem seemed to be related to my encryption software that's making certain codes unusable.

*Update - 29/12/09 The game just got updated! The bug's fixed :D
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.2 with several bug fixes.
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.22 - Moved the save button to a more prominent position and corrected some typos in stage 1 and 3. If you notice any more bugs or typos please let me know so I can fix them.
*Update - 2/1/10 Released Soul Arms version 1.25 - added squire mode.

p/s Thanks for playing!

Reviews


HolyManeHolyMane

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

could be a good game

i'm pretty much tired of those animelooking things(but its just me so i'll be not taking down the score coz of this), i thought i was playing with a woman ._. ,
still the game is quite nice, the way he moves is really alward and lame, we can't "fell" it ,so its really alkward
anywway i know using motion tweet turn animating easy ,but kmon draw more!! and make nicer animation
also the phisics suck
and you guys should add cool affect and make normal moves more simple make it like zero's (from megaman) sword combo.

thats it USE LESS motion tweets and draw more, and draw better background...is totally okay to simple use others as ref...also add foreground it makes the game looks more beatyful


People find this review helpful!
SoulArms responds:

thanks for the critic, i'll keep them in mind when i make my next game.


triggercrazytriggercrazy

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

Very well made.

The frame rate was great, good story, gameplay was fun, and overall a well constructed game. 10/10


People find this review helpful!
SoulArms responds:

Thanks!


bobesponga2bobesponga2

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

Epic

Awesome game it has good effects, cool history, deep and inspiring music, the art is awesome and you need to use the potions a lot, the items are very useful.
You made it whit RPG maker VX? Cool. This game looks awesome, its one of the best flash rpgs i have played. Thanks for the great game.


People find this review helpful!
SoulArms responds:

Yep I used some assets from both RPG Maker VX and XP. And thanks for the first review :D