Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2009 | 3:26 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Synopsis: Embark on an epic journey in this fast-paced, side-scrolling action RPG.

Phew... It's been nearly 18 months since I started working on Soul Arms and now it's finally complete! =D I hope you guys enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoy making it!

Controls

In-game:
Move Left: Left Arrow Key
Move Right: Right Arrow Key
Back Dash: Up Arrow Key
Crouch/Pick up Items: Down Arrow Key
Attack: A Key
Jump: S Key
Equip Skill: E Key
Use Skill: D Key
Shadow Steps (Lv.4 Skill): SPACE+Left or Right Arrow Key
Soul Burst: Z Key
Soul Blast: X Key
Items: Number Keys
Pause Menu: P Key

Result Screen:
-Press Space to view result immediately.

During Event:
-Press Space to advance dialogue.
-Press Enter to skip scene.

Hints
-You learn a new skill every time you level up, so when you level up remember to check the pause menu for your new skills, they can really come in handy and help you get through some of the more difficult levels.
-Mouse over the items to view their descriptions.
-Beat the game once to unlock survival mode.
-Beat the game once to unlock the summon item (item #4).

Known Bugs
-Throwing knives can't hit aerial targets.

Other notes
-You may report any other bugs directly to me at magnaarts@gmail.com

Kenxeus found a critical bug that prevented him from beating the assassin boss. The problem seemed to be related to my encryption software that's making certain codes unusable.

*Update - 29/12/09 The game just got updated! The bug's fixed :D
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.2 with several bug fixes.
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.22 - Moved the save button to a more prominent position and corrected some typos in stage 1 and 3. If you notice any more bugs or typos please let me know so I can fix them.
*Update - 2/1/10 Released Soul Arms version 1.25 - added squire mode.

p/s Thanks for playing!

Reviews


PopiousPopious

Rated 2 / 5 stars December 31, 2009

A decent foundation, but that's all.

The game isn't bad but it needs a LOT of work. The gameplay is bland, you just walk and tap a button to kill everything. The magic is useless. The plot is completely uninteresting. There's no real drive to go on. Oh, and you have the numbers reversed for the health bar. There's a whole slew of small glitches to fix. The throwing knives are pointless. I'd suggest just using this as a learning experience and starting from scratch instead of releasing a new version of this.


People find this review helpful!

RytsssRytsss

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 31, 2009

I haven't finished the game yet so bear with me

It's a great game full of interesting bosses and the like, however;

the assasin boss is much too difficult because the only thing that works on him is ranged weapons and they are at limited supply

you can't buy potions, and there is no way to get them other then randomly finding them, so if you only get good at a game near the end like me, you have alot of trouble beating some bosses.... like the assassin... *cough* because you already used all you potions up while fumbling around in the beginning.

other then that I can't really think of anything off the top of my mind, however if you're planning to make a sequel or something similar with a different story, heres some Ideas, feel free to ignore them since I already complained.

Different weapons, and with them, different elemental attacks *like daggers, and shooting two fireballs out of them...

and OFF SWITCH FOR THE MUSIC O_<

an adorable companion with breathe of doom

target lock for the throwing knives

throwing knives have elemental attributes when thrown and the element is selected

I was never any good at coding so these may be quite impossible, but hell, heres hoping for a sequel

great game again... I'm gonna try and ice that Assassin bast*rd


People find this review helpful!

kittycatpurrkittycatpurr

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2009

rawr

I loved it!


People find this review helpful!

Neo-KunNeo-Kun

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 31, 2009

Here's what I think:

This game has a lot of room for improvement. I'm not saying that it's bad, in fact I do love the concept, but everything about the game needs some polishing. Mainly in the game play, when the enemy attacks they just won't stop. It's understandable if it's in the later parts of the game or if it's in hard mode, but it's very easy to die in the first 3 levels if one is not careful, and that's not a really good thing. The story can also use sme improvement as well. It's not bad but I found the dialogue to be dry. It's like eating a plain waffle without any syrup. But those aside, it's a pretty good flash game, just keep working on it


People find this review helpful!

StealthMcCloudStealthMcCloud

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 31, 2009

Enjoyable

Was a good game, but I agree with some of the others. A shop feature would have been nice to buy items to help you along. And I didn't notice the save feature until I played again. It would help to make it more noticable. But other than that it was a good game, wasn't too hard and the storyline was good. Good job.


People find this review helpful!