Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2009 | 3:26 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Synopsis: Embark on an epic journey in this fast-paced, side-scrolling action RPG.

Phew... It's been nearly 18 months since I started working on Soul Arms and now it's finally complete! =D I hope you guys enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoy making it!

Controls

In-game:
Move Left: Left Arrow Key
Move Right: Right Arrow Key
Back Dash: Up Arrow Key
Crouch/Pick up Items: Down Arrow Key
Attack: A Key
Jump: S Key
Equip Skill: E Key
Use Skill: D Key
Shadow Steps (Lv.4 Skill): SPACE+Left or Right Arrow Key
Soul Burst: Z Key
Soul Blast: X Key
Items: Number Keys
Pause Menu: P Key

Result Screen:
-Press Space to view result immediately.

During Event:
-Press Space to advance dialogue.
-Press Enter to skip scene.

Hints
-You learn a new skill every time you level up, so when you level up remember to check the pause menu for your new skills, they can really come in handy and help you get through some of the more difficult levels.
-Mouse over the items to view their descriptions.
-Beat the game once to unlock survival mode.
-Beat the game once to unlock the summon item (item #4).

Known Bugs
-Throwing knives can't hit aerial targets.

Other notes
-You may report any other bugs directly to me at magnaarts@gmail.com

Kenxeus found a critical bug that prevented him from beating the assassin boss. The problem seemed to be related to my encryption software that's making certain codes unusable.

*Update - 29/12/09 The game just got updated! The bug's fixed :D
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.2 with several bug fixes.
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.22 - Moved the save button to a more prominent position and corrected some typos in stage 1 and 3. If you notice any more bugs or typos please let me know so I can fix them.
*Update - 2/1/10 Released Soul Arms version 1.25 - added squire mode.

p/s Thanks for playing!

Reviews


MasterSarge300MasterSarge300

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 1, 2010

Its good but...

To be honest, I almost thought this be like the Tales series where you fuse free world roaming and combo action systems. (Truthfully, when I thought side scroller, I thought it be like Tales of Phantasia.) The game is good. The story, the graphics, but the gameplay isn't what I had in mind.

10 for the effort,

9 for graphics,

10 for story,

5 for the gameplay.


People find this review helpful!

GlesonGleson

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 1, 2010

not bad, but...

you get a 7 cause i like the idea and was addicted to it for a while, did hard mode to start lol
the one problem i ran into was i would get stuck on those staff monsters..
they would always cast their spells and id have to run to counter by shadow jumping or back dashing but i ran out of juice and got stuck to be bombed by their tiny balls of doom
which kills


People find this review helpful!

ReyKitohanaReyKitohana

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2010

awesome

I see Chrono Cross inluences ;D
For that you get 5/5 10/10


People find this review helpful!

ModRobaz17ModRobaz17

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 1, 2010

Nooo

The art is OK, but its boring and repetitive. And the controls don't really work out too well, since they're all kind of far away and not really well placed for quick access. There were too many words I didn't even bother to read at all.

But its better than anything I could make, so yeah, a six.


People find this review helpful!

skeletosskeletos

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2010

ok so...

given that you most likely hated making it, you want us to hate it too? not likely.


People find this review helpful!