Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2009 | 3:26 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 28, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Synopsis: Embark on an epic journey in this fast-paced, side-scrolling action RPG.

Phew... It's been nearly 18 months since I started working on Soul Arms and now it's finally complete! =D I hope you guys enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoy making it!

Controls

In-game:
Move Left: Left Arrow Key
Move Right: Right Arrow Key
Back Dash: Up Arrow Key
Crouch/Pick up Items: Down Arrow Key
Attack: A Key
Jump: S Key
Equip Skill: E Key
Use Skill: D Key
Shadow Steps (Lv.4 Skill): SPACE+Left or Right Arrow Key
Soul Burst: Z Key
Soul Blast: X Key
Items: Number Keys
Pause Menu: P Key

Result Screen:
-Press Space to view result immediately.

During Event:
-Press Space to advance dialogue.
-Press Enter to skip scene.

Hints
-You learn a new skill every time you level up, so when you level up remember to check the pause menu for your new skills, they can really come in handy and help you get through some of the more difficult levels.
-Mouse over the items to view their descriptions.
-Beat the game once to unlock survival mode.
-Beat the game once to unlock the summon item (item #4).

Known Bugs
-Throwing knives can't hit aerial targets.

Other notes
-You may report any other bugs directly to me at magnaarts@gmail.com

Kenxeus found a critical bug that prevented him from beating the assassin boss. The problem seemed to be related to my encryption software that's making certain codes unusable.

*Update - 29/12/09 The game just got updated! The bug's fixed :D
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.2 with several bug fixes.
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.22 - Moved the save button to a more prominent position and corrected some typos in stage 1 and 3. If you notice any more bugs or typos please let me know so I can fix them.
*Update - 2/1/10 Released Soul Arms version 1.25 - added squire mode.

p/s Thanks for playing!

Reviews


okai5674okai5674

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

the graphics are good but..

its an ok game but next time u should make it more interesting and gie it more oomph. but its a pretty good game.


People find this review helpful!

OtteroncrackOtteroncrack

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

Really good, but . . .

First off, I would like to say that I enjoyed playing this game and that I can tell you put a lot of time and effort into it. The gameplay was nostalgic and I liked the story, but I did have a few pet peeves about the game.

Occasionally, I found it very difficult to attack enemies if they were on opposite sides of me and I ended up getting raped. Also, the strain meter made no sense to me. If he's a hero, he should be able to take pretty much any shit you throw at him without getting paralyzed after a few attacks. The controls were a little difficult to manage, but better than some other games I've played. The bosses got very hard very fast, which annoyed me, because I like to have a challenge, but not so much that I have to fight him fifty times because he keeps raping me and I can't do a damn thing about it.

However, so as not to seem like a total beotch, here are the things I liked about the game: I usually play games for the story value, so I really enjoyed the dialogue and plot. The art was good and the characters seemed well thought out. In all, I enjoyed the game, and I look forward to any new stuff you put out.


People find this review helpful!

SYCKODELICUSSYCKODELICUS

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

Its good but

Man i redo the game 2 time because i ran out of lives and i think you should put more life in dragoon mode or a form to gain more lifes becuase you just win like 2 lifes per stage and the golems all an son of a bitch that kills you pretty easy when they agroup , i hope you can change that because i seriously like the game


People find this review helpful!

kenshin6577kenshin6577

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 1, 2010

GREAT EFFORTS!

I have to say, you probably put a ton of efforts and time into this work. The story was sort of the usual save the world theme, which isn't something too original to come up with. I do like the drama you put into it. Also you should ignore those that say the text is too long, if they don't like to read, they should have just skip the scene. After all reading is one of the major element that make up an rpg.

The music during the cut scene is very fitting and portray the emotion that the character give off.The graphic was not top notch, but still better than some of the crap here on NG.

The only thing that make this game far from perfect is the control. I strain at time while being stuck between two enemies and getting rape without really being able to do anything. The level up was kind of pointless if all you get is higher hit-point but the damage you receive can sometime take over half your total health. Your character also move too slow sometime and not able to see where the projectile shots are coming before it be too late.

If you decide to make another game similar to this, I suggest that there an option to buy armors or ability that lessen the damage you take. Mini side quest with some reward or so.

Overall you have tremendous potential to make more great games in the future.

Good luck.

You get an 8 for effort, music, and concept.

The minus are the controls mainly.


People find this review helpful!

allatreevallatreev

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2010

screw the others. i like it

i know how hard it is to make a unique style like this. the 3d graphic were great and the game in itself is terrific. it reminds me of the calming, uniqe syle of FF 10