Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2009 | 3:26 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Synopsis: Embark on an epic journey in this fast-paced, side-scrolling action RPG.

Phew... It's been nearly 18 months since I started working on Soul Arms and now it's finally complete! =D I hope you guys enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoy making it!

Controls

In-game:
Move Left: Left Arrow Key
Move Right: Right Arrow Key
Back Dash: Up Arrow Key
Crouch/Pick up Items: Down Arrow Key
Attack: A Key
Jump: S Key
Equip Skill: E Key
Use Skill: D Key
Shadow Steps (Lv.4 Skill): SPACE+Left or Right Arrow Key
Soul Burst: Z Key
Soul Blast: X Key
Items: Number Keys
Pause Menu: P Key

Result Screen:
-Press Space to view result immediately.

During Event:
-Press Space to advance dialogue.
-Press Enter to skip scene.

Hints
-You learn a new skill every time you level up, so when you level up remember to check the pause menu for your new skills, they can really come in handy and help you get through some of the more difficult levels.
-Mouse over the items to view their descriptions.
-Beat the game once to unlock survival mode.
-Beat the game once to unlock the summon item (item #4).

Known Bugs
-Throwing knives can't hit aerial targets.

Other notes
-You may report any other bugs directly to me at magnaarts@gmail.com

Kenxeus found a critical bug that prevented him from beating the assassin boss. The problem seemed to be related to my encryption software that's making certain codes unusable.

*Update - 29/12/09 The game just got updated! The bug's fixed :D
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.2 with several bug fixes.
*Update - 31/12/09 Released Soul Arms version 1.22 - Moved the save button to a more prominent position and corrected some typos in stage 1 and 3. If you notice any more bugs or typos please let me know so I can fix them.
*Update - 2/1/10 Released Soul Arms version 1.25 - added squire mode.

p/s Thanks for playing!

Reviews


HonormedalHonormedal

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

good

I liked it, though the range of your weapon against some of the enemies weapons isn't balanced


People find this review helpful!

Crazy80sguyCrazy80sguy

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

It was a great play!

Its storyline reminded me of those old turn based rpgs, like Wild Arms and Vagrant Story. It was engaging and fun, and not too hard either. Lovely graphics, and well done on giving reasons for everything - why the character has magical attacks for example.

Great stuff, I look forward to part 2! :D


People find this review helpful!

jaysterduckjaysterduck

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

awesome story...

add more special moves,weapons,armor,more enemys,a block button then it shall be god until then.... im giving it a ten. =] AWESOME make it into an mmorpg and that would be cool.


People find this review helpful!

Eon264Eon264

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

Wow

warning:spoilers, don't read if you want to learn by playing!
I personally liked the game. I thought it was fun and challenging, and you had to actually use some skill rather than hack'n'slash your way through.
which is why I guess everyone is complaining. it's supposed to be difficult, how boring would it be if you could just sit there and block all the time?
The archers are perfectly fair, it's all in the reflexes, just phase back and jump and you'll dodge it 90% of the time, provided you notice the arrow as soon as it enters the screen. the sword was an easy battle, just time consuming. you simply shadow step through the attack when you have to run past the actual sword, and wait for him to use the vortex before you attack the orb, otherwise you'll get hit because you can't move while attacking. The assasin was pretty difficult, but shouldn't a final boss be good??? first of all, when you hit him he always appears behind you, and the ninja star can be shadow stepped through. Quit complaining, the games good it just takes some strategy. pay attention to how the units attack and you'll probably live.


People find this review helpful!

valhallaangelvalhallaangel

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

good

the graphics are very good , the sprite maps were awesome and music is chosen well. the only complaint is the difficulty of some bosses, but with a little bit training it isnt that of a problem.

like the strain system on here (it reminds me of those old turn based RPG for some reason) becuase you cant just barge in and tank your way trough the enemies.

thumbs up, and dont be too concerned bout the negative comments here (but rather look at the actual rating)


People find this review helpful!