Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 24, 2009 | 7:00 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 29, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 25, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

(www.snowsnowforlucy.com for high quality version)

After losing her arms and father, Lucy is imprisoned by a crazy inventor who builds customized arms for her and forces her to labor. Will she have an opportunity to escape and realize her life-long dream?

Thank you for front page!

---SUPER NOTE: If the sound goes off sync, then use the track bar, click some where on the track bar, (Preferably 1-5 seconds ago) and it should make the sound accurate.

--Everyone has my permission to download this and upload etc.etc.

Hope you enjoy it and I thank God for what ever He has blessed me with.

Reviews


ZenphorZenphor

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2010

Mixed feelings.

The plot definitely has some merits. It breathes new life and meaning into the word "hope" through the eyes of a child - something I've lost sight of in the intensively jaded world of post-secondary education. And although the animation style could use a lot of work in terms of fluidity of movement, I don't mind it. But the one stickler that I hoped to ride through those 22 minutes (unsuccessfully), was how contrived it all felt. The music is overly melancholy, the protagonist unnecessarily weak, and the finale of joint-empathy with two amputees is surprisingly predictable. Please, do continue furthering your talents as a animator. But I'm just not feeling this one.



Civilized-ApocalypseCivilized-Apocalypse

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

Okay people shut up with how its flawless

YES it is a great cartoon and the story line was pretty decent, im not going to say anything about the creators art skills because i know that people start from differant times and learn as they go.

what i AM going to say is that there could be a lot of improvment on the story itself.
It's very anime ish and not in a good way. the flashback had no sence to what was going on and to be honest i dont think you put your best into the story you worked your hardest on the animation, you need to spend good time story boarding and if you actually DID spend a lot of time on that, then you need to improve on it.

...the sound effects were pretty neat tho...but again very stereotypical anime which will not pull at any of my heart strings by watching this.



LunaticHiatusLunaticHiatus

Rated 2 / 5 stars December 30, 2009

kinda disappointed

I have been waiting for this for years and I really wanted to like it but it really was less then I expected. Almost every character is pretty flat personality wise except for the toy maker and no reason was presented as to why he changed moods so rapidly or why he was making evil toys and you only give some brief confusing shots of who lucys real dad is and why she is their and when I mean brief and confusing. I mean brief and confusing. Dialogue is sparse to near none and the animation is not anything special. The music was ok, but it had random jingles thrown it in seeminglessly as well.
Oh well, congrats on making something full length.


SpikeVallentine responds:

I agree with EVERY bad thing you said. Everything.

Our future projects will blow this away.

Hmm full length? Hmmm, well thank you for your appreciation.


BetaOrionisBetaOrionis

Rated 2 / 5 stars January 6, 2010

Tremendously lacking in many areas.

I don't take effort into consideration when reviewing, so that's why the score is low. No one cares how long something was worked on, only the end result matters.

And at 22 minutes, this officially qualifies as a "short film," so I'm holding it to higher standards than I would if this were a short.

Script:
Brings nothing to the table I'm afraid. The flow of events was pretty forced, and when you wanted something to happen, you kind of just threw in an inexplicable element to force the story along. Why is that old man such a dick to Lucy? Why is a stunt pilot working in a toy store?

The characters aren't very well developed, and are simple-minded in nature. They were all very silly, which doesn't fit the darker drawing style at all. It's not like you didn't have time to develop them either, 22 minutes is more than enough.

What the hell is wrong with your writer?

Directing:
I'm actually quite unfond of the shots and the angles you chose. You leave a lot of head room, for no real reason. I can tell based on your storyline that we're supposed to empathize with the characters, but you keep using longer shots, even during intimate moments. The story and characters suck as is, but the problem isn't helped at all by your decision to keep us farther from the action. Crop your shots, dude.

Art:
Very poor. You really fucked up Lucy's face in several shots. You need to really work on how you draw dramatic angles. Side angle was overused, and any time an object turned, it looked horrible and jerky. Same with your walking cycles.

Acting:
Voices seemed to match visually to the characters, so props to whoever did casting. There wasn't very much emotion in any of them, but that's okay, since your characters are all one-dimensional anyway.

Overall:
This whole project was really very silly and childish. You should have gotten a much, MUCH better script before sinking 6 months into animating.

PS - Yes, I know: you aren't happy with this project either, and the next will be better, got it ;)
Good luck on that and those that follow, and I hope my input was helpful.



LirgLirg

Rated 2 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

Something's missing

This seems like it's missing something, i feel as though this was some corny story out of a noob writing, no offense or anything. I believe that you are trying to go out of the "SLICE AND DICE" of your natural animation but i suggest it should be more "BOOM BOOM and KA-BOOM".

Back to the story, Beside the hard work in animating the entire clip, it isn't really that great.


SpikeVallentine responds:

It's missing EVERYTHING. I agree with you 1,000,000,000 the story is noob.

No offense taken at all.

"it isn't really that great."
I agree. I have grown since then and our future projects will blow this away. as a matter of fact, i shouldnt even compare the two. I'm done with this, moving on.