Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 24, 2009 | 7:00 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 29, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 25, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

(www.snowsnowforlucy.com for high quality version)

After losing her arms and father, Lucy is imprisoned by a crazy inventor who builds customized arms for her and forces her to labor. Will she have an opportunity to escape and realize her life-long dream?

Thank you for front page!

---SUPER NOTE: If the sound goes off sync, then use the track bar, click some where on the track bar, (Preferably 1-5 seconds ago) and it should make the sound accurate.

--Everyone has my permission to download this and upload etc.etc.

Hope you enjoy it and I thank God for what ever He has blessed me with.

Reviews


PiMasterPiMaster

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 2, 2010

Hmmm

Ok, the animation and overall theme were great, but there were a few things you needed to work on:
-the scripting and voice acting seemed awkward, drawn out, even forced
-though the animation was great, there were places were it seemed jerky to me
-the storyline seemed longer than it should have been. To be honest, I expected it to end once she got outside

Like I said, it was a great story, very moving, but you need to work on these things in your next project.


People find this review helpful!
SpikeVallentine responds:

Thank you, I agree.


redoseredose

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 5, 2010

oh god...

it was traumatizing at the least... FRIGHTENING at the most. i would give you a ten, but...well heres my report...+8 for how good looking it was for a long story.+2 for the story which was great.-3 for the frightening story that will probability haunt me during the day(not night...i don't have nightmares)but the point is you did a great job



HurdleraHurdlera

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

Very well done.

A little corny and predictable, but still well done. The voice acting was by far the best, most enjoyable part. The graphics themselves however, could use a lot of work.


People find this review helpful!

magic585magic585

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 26, 2009

hate to be negative nancy...

...but i'm not REALLY being a negative nancy. i'm just, you know, being, like, honest, so you can, like, you know, improve and stuff.

i gave you five stars because you had the patience and dedication to make a 22 minute short film.

i gave you another star because the phone-head-thing was cool, and as far as i know, an original idea.

i gave you another star because the plot wasn't completely and utterly god-awful, i suppose. i mean, you were trying.

...buuut it was still kinda lame. hence the 7. sorry. there was just too much sap, too mcuh emotion that you hadn't earned. this might not be obvious, but creating emotion in a short film, especially an animated one, is difficult, and requires hard work and time. to make an audience sad, you have to do more than drop a sad face on a sad character in some arbitrary sad situation and put on some sad music.

actually, that's a complete lie. judging by the reviews you're getting, you can reach about 90% of Newgrounds-farers this way. nonetheless, it takes more than this to sway an intelligent audience. if you want to evoke emotion, you must first strive to create characters with complex, dynamic, believable personalities. here's a good place for you to start: work on portraying emotions that aren't at their fullest extremes. the mood in this movie was relentlessly melodramatic, nearly always so-sad-im-gunna-cry or so-happy-im-gunna cry. real people aren't like that. if you understate some moods, the bits that really need to be intensely emotional will be much stronger. you should do this by actually considering how a real person might feel in the certain situation and toning down the mood if you realize it wouldn't be such a big deal, as well as by writing in scenes and situations that are less dramatic. try writing a few scenes that aren't dramatic at all, but just help develop characters or ideas. this will make your work seem less like bad soap opera.

also, even if its 22 minutes, it's still a short film. try to keep it to one idea or theme: in your case, the relationship between Lucy and the inventor. all that stuff with the boy and the spaceship at the end really just shouldn't have been there. you should have some kind of positive emotion going on, but it should be worked into the main storyline. don't just throw a cute boy out of outer space to give it a happy ending.

i hope this will help you in future projects. please respond telling me i was helpful, or an asshole, or to tell me i take things too seriously.


People find this review helpful!
SpikeVallentine responds:

I have received your review well.

". i'm just, you know, being, like, honest, so you can, like, you know, improve and stuff."
Of course. I love honesty, suggestions and points of views. etc.etc. And you're not being a negative nancy. You're a natural nancy. Naturaly you spoke what you feel. and naturaly this project wasn't good, so "negative" nancy.

"i gave you five stars because you had the patience and dedication to make a 22 minute short film."
For me. Patience and dedication doesnt really mean anything, in terms of "Have you seen a big feature length movies that is horrible? THere's gotta be some studio movie, or even independent feature length film that was HORRIBLE. Where you give it 0 out of ten even if it's "unfair". Cause obviously people invest time, but the end result is so bad, it makes you say "SO WHAT!". Did they have dedication and patience? So are you going to give them high marks? see? This is just me though.

"i gave you another star because the phone-head-thing was cool,"
That's funny.

"...buuut it was still kinda lame. "
I agree. Wait no i dont. IT IS LAME. Trust me i agree with everything you said.
I think you'd appreciate a great book. "STORY" by Robert Mckee. Get it.

I dont really have a disclaimer, but i can at least tell you one.
But I know this project is bad bad bad. it's lame. The nice and healthy thing is, i'm able to see and confess this. I've grown. Our future projects will destroy this project.

Thank you for your honesty.


justingothjustingoth

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 12, 2010

Touching

Even though it is slow in the begining and upsetting waiting through all that is worth it the end brings a smile.