Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


TuBsUtTiTuBsUtTi

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 17, 2009

Boooring.

Didint really like it at all. Music were too scottish, and plot was horrible, like it was trailer. Animation on the otherhand was 1st class.



SlaangorkhanSlaangorkhan

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 10, 2010

meh

great animation and style, but somehow I did not really like it (not my taste i guess). Still you have to be one of (if no the) most skilled animators here.



miserablestarmiserablestar

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

Eh...

I'm positive this review will get downvoted by the fanboys, but it is my honest opinion.

I can't rate this high because in comparison to your past work and standards, this is lacking. In terms of graphics, it just doesn't hold up to waterlollies or the yuyu. The style changed somewhat I guess, and after two years, evolution happens I suppose. If you and others like it, you do. I don't. Or maybe more time should have been dedicated to this. Either way, it just isn't as well done.

In regards to the actual movie, I personally preferred the old type of story line. You say this version has plot where your past work doesn't, but I personally argue that it has less. This movie is simply an introduction, a trailer to the story. Most of the dialogue could have been left out and the point would still have gotten across.

You are still among the most talented people who submit here though. Keep up the good work. My opinion is an obvious minority and I don't expect to be taken seriously. I've never made anything myself and I could be too critical. Most people love it, so you should cater to the larger audience. :)


Lots of people find this review helpful!

wilmerpwnzorzwilmerpwnzorz

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 13, 2009

no voice

the voice ruins it!

"Here's what you need to do to get better.

Read some classic books.
Watch some classic films (not just animated ones).
Do life drawing.
Read some philosophy.
Get off your computer and have some real life experience.
Keep a diary."

That's just bullcrap, do it ORIGINAL. if you read a book and then make a film, how original would that make it? you would just steal stuff from the book and remake it. how would a diary help you make a fantasy story? our world is just sadnes and destruction. movies make it even more un-original

just do it as you've always done it. without voices, you wouldnt even have needed a voice actor. but my points goes to the animation itself, great graphics, great effects 5/10



yelowcowyelowcow

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 9, 2010

Show don't Tell

Of course this is better than most every thing on newgrounds but my review is in context of your other work. I don't feel that the animation was up to par with your earlier work in this series, the scenes of when bitey was younger in particular. The narration was also rather dull and I think it told too much. I understand that you are trying to introduce a higher level of understanding for the brakenwood world and tell the story of teh dashkin, but it feels as if the narration was used as a crutch in this animation, which is a crutch you definitely don't need, as you are a master of visual story telling and character animation. Please tell us the story through the visuals as much as you can, as you have in the past. The writing wasn't bad, it just told way too much compared to what was going on visually.

Been following you from the begining, and I love all your stuff, so I hope you will find this constructive, and not offensive in any way.
%Nils