Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


wilmerpwnzorzwilmerpwnzorz

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 13, 2009

no voice

the voice ruins it!

"Here's what you need to do to get better.

Read some classic books.
Watch some classic films (not just animated ones).
Do life drawing.
Read some philosophy.
Get off your computer and have some real life experience.
Keep a diary."

That's just bullcrap, do it ORIGINAL. if you read a book and then make a film, how original would that make it? you would just steal stuff from the book and remake it. how would a diary help you make a fantasy story? our world is just sadnes and destruction. movies make it even more un-original

just do it as you've always done it. without voices, you wouldnt even have needed a voice actor. but my points goes to the animation itself, great graphics, great effects 5/10



yelowcowyelowcow

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 9, 2010

Show don't Tell

Of course this is better than most every thing on newgrounds but my review is in context of your other work. I don't feel that the animation was up to par with your earlier work in this series, the scenes of when bitey was younger in particular. The narration was also rather dull and I think it told too much. I understand that you are trying to introduce a higher level of understanding for the brakenwood world and tell the story of teh dashkin, but it feels as if the narration was used as a crutch in this animation, which is a crutch you definitely don't need, as you are a master of visual story telling and character animation. Please tell us the story through the visuals as much as you can, as you have in the past. The writing wasn't bad, it just told way too much compared to what was going on visually.

Been following you from the begining, and I love all your stuff, so I hope you will find this constructive, and not offensive in any way.
%Nils



KhannKhann

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 29, 2010

...

From the previous episodes, the title and some of the scenes one can figure pretty much everything without having to be told what to think.

Art, animation, music, sound effects, voice acting ... Everything is very nice but the fact that, for the first time in Brackenwood, I'm being told what to think up to the questions I should be asking myself. I know there's a version without voice on your site, I watched it and it felt better. Some scenes felt out of place or pace though ... And I'd be very grateful for a reworked "the Last of the Dashkin".

I'm amazed at how you manage to express such feelings without the need of words, it really feels like a waste to spell them out.

- Khann

ps: Have to precise I hate movie trailers in a general way, since this sounds so much like one I'm a bit biased.
pps: Forgive my bad english, I'm not a native speaker.



TrueDefectTrueDefect

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars February 6, 2010

i dont get it

am i missing something? i give it 5 stars for animation but i didnt like the story at all..



KwingKwing

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 12, 2009

What a Crock

NOTE: This was from my old review which was deleted, but I got a PERSONAL HEADS UP from Holla36 that it IS NOT abusive. I don't want some stupid fanboys flagging this again.

There's like... No animation in it. You tossed in some Filters, the animation is way choppier, especially the walking and running, and it just kind of... Disappointed me.

The graphics are pretty much the same as they've always been, which I guess is good. The audio quality was very high.

Here's the main problem, though. You've always used silent storytelling before, making the story unfold on its own instead of leading the viewer on with narration. You should have maybe shown a flashback to the Dashkin or something, or maybe some kind of montage timeline to tell the story. Spoon-feeding it to the audience was a big mistake.

Another thing that pissed me off was presentation. While the animation was several minutes long, you made it seem kind of short. You end it with the line "we're about to find out", which leads the player to believe the entire animation was only the intro. The animation told a lot and a little at the same time, but it was done all wrong.

A lot of people won't like this because there's not enough happening. It's a bunch of telling and no action, which is what people really want. You could have just kept the file on your computer until you had some more aftermath to tack to the back of the animation, and you'd have gotten way more stars from me.