Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


jmanamoronjmanamoron

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 20, 2009

eh,

i'm actually a tad disappointed in this one, i know you've been getting crap for the narration, i'm actually ok with that, but the "to be continued" episode is honestly a waste of every one's time especally since nothing in this whole thing couldn't be a neat little black screen with text on it. to me this seem like an empty animation like a commercial



LegovskiLegovski

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 16, 2009

Mr. Phillips: I'm really distressed!

You are an absolute genius of visual storytelling. It's pure, it's simple, and it's beautiful. Please don't give it up for this sort of thing. It just ain't the same.


People find this review helpful!

SuperSonicShowerSuperSonicShower

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

naaah :S

it seems like its only half done .... :( loved it otherwise



DannyPDannyP

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

An improvement in some aspects

The backgrounds were very detailed. The animation wasn't as good as the previous ones in that there wasn't nearly as much actual animation. There's actually some kind of story getting setup here, which is a huge improvement. I found the previous ones boring, to be nothing more than smooth animation that I could find in any professionally animated movie, complete with some predictable, childish humour or moral of the story - Bitey getting what he had coming.
This is leading to something more interesting, though. I always acknowledged the skill and effort in the animation in the previous ones, but those reviews got deleted because I said I didn't like the movies overall. I still think this is overrated, but it could be amazing if those animating skills were put to good use (i.e. something with a little more depth/entertaining value, not just a display of excellent animating skill).

inb4 flagged/deleted for actually posting a review instead of blind praise and for giving this a score below 10


There's some debate, but overall people find this review helpful

RokedreRokedre

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 25, 2010

Not a fan of narration

Very Beautiful, but basically boring. not as interesting as previous videos. I feel that this narration is worse than the quiet. Don't tell us, show us.