Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


btrianglebtriangle

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

PLEASE READ, Will help i hope

First of all, I greatly respect your work, probably more than you can believe.

But for some reason in this film of the series, I just couldn't immerse myself into the world of Brackenwood like I usually do.

A couple reasons i think why
-camera changed constantly, my eyes couldn't settle on one piece of beautiful art like it usually did. The constant fading in and out was terrible for me, I couldn't immerse myself. It felt like I was watching a video piled together in order to make a film, rather than an actual film.

How you should have done it : Made more breaks in between the narrators speech, like you did at the part of Bity's past. However maybe not as long, more use of this would have made it much greater.

However even though the scene of Bity's past was enjoyable compared to the other cluttered stuff, Bity looked terrible! He was so out of place graphically, and besides that it just looked bad. I couldn't stop looking at it, and it took me away from the film.

-Narrator was distracting from the art I was trying to look at. I think you should stick to the old, "Show" not "Tell" way. However it was nice to learn about his life, I kind of figured this out on my own though, a Narrator was not necessary. However if you choose to use a narrator next time, please make it through "Poetry", it would suite better.

So besides the fact I just really couldn't get into the film, I still find the story to be pretty good, but like all the films, its lacking.

Its lacking what you just explained in this one film, but it was a painful process.

I honor your work, and celebrate the fact that you are sharing this for everyone. It is a privilege to have such a great artist do this.

Anyway, hope this helped! :D


People find this review helpful!

DFeuerDFeuer

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Nice, but...

I cant stop feeling that the animation quality was lower compared from the previous releases. Is this some kind of sketch? If so, then its great!



ShadyLeprechaunShadyLeprechaun

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 14, 2010

Don't get me wrong...

Your artistic work is great, and your animations are unquestionably phenomenal. There is clearly talent behind these works, and this one is no exception.

It's just... when I watch one of your videos, I know what to expect. It's impressive, and it's awe-inspiring... but as I watch it, I'm just not having fun. I come out of it with a feeling of respect for your work, but I don't feel better for watching it.

Anyway, that's my only problem. It's still a great flash, but I don't enjoy it, and I wanted to tell you why. Good work and all.



TriggerHavenTriggerHaven

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 29, 2009

Fairly Good, but Narration Detracts from Animation

I like the introduction of Bitey's backstory to the Brackenwood lore. However, why the use of narration? I think you were better without it. Due to reliance on the narrator to tell the story rather than the animation, It felt more like a trailer than a true chapter of the Brackenwood story.



WyrframeWyrframe

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 19, 2010

Don't get me wrong...

It's good animation, but except for the last 10 seconds, it would make just as much sense and feel WAY less forced and faux- and melo-dramatic without the emotionless and completely unconvincing voiceover. 3/5