Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


candyplatypuscandyplatypus

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 9, 2010

not my favorite....but great drawings!!!

love ur style of drawing,good job on that but the plot isnt my favorite. i like how u made him look(really shows what he thinks of life) a corrupted, unnatural being looking for a purpose. this seems like more of a trailer to the real thing so i cant say much, a normally prefer humor in most things, so dont let 1 guy get you down too much. keep up the good work and give the next one a GOOD REASON to be the best of newgrounds.just spend some more time thinking the next one out. many thanks-sweetcandystudios



hruikanhruikan

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2009

Oh dear

I hated it. It ruined what i thought was an amazing series by removing the complexity of what the beautiful animation told with narration. The narration simplified what could already be expressed through the animation of Bitey himself. And unfortunately the voice acting of the Narrator was not up to scratch and didn't capture the playful nature of the previous installments but seemed to want to darken the entire series and push it into a new, unwanted direction.

The old stories, although lacking in character motivation and plot, reflected the nature of Brackenwood, the world you created, in it's chaos and simplicity.

Admittedly, it works alright as perhaps a trailer for your upcoming works but i'd much prefer the narration to be more polished and in tune with the style you've already established, rather than depressing.

It's still good of course, but it's a blemish, and a big one by your standards.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

5pies5pies

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

............

This was animated very well, probably the best ive ever seen. And I understand you want to bring in a story, but I dont really like the story... Its not really different from all the other story's with mages and mystic creatures and so on..
These flashes were different, but now I think you have just made it quete regular.


People find this review helpful!

DelamortesDelamortes

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2009

nah

u have been working on this for 2 years and the movie looks like an intro :(
But hell yeah the animation was good! so I give u a 7



QunniqQunniq

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 12, 2009

i usally give you 10s

but i feel like you just hit the reset button on this series. i feel like you explained what everyone pretty much figured out or grasped the concept of from watching the past biteys

also

im dissapointed you began narrating, you do such a good job explaining the story with your art. it feels unnessessary or to much


chluaid responds:

past Brackenwood movies said nothing about Bitey's past, so you're wrong when you say I explained what everyone pretty much knew. Unless you missed the entire middle bit. Thanks for those past 10s.