Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


ZirixZeroZirixZero

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 18, 2009

Umm..

I didn't really like this, as enjoy. It was a little too short. It wasn't too interesting either.



FKProductionsFKProductions

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 5, 2010

Dilemma

Aesthetically perfect, yes good music, effects, graphics, animation.

Just... it seems to lack something. Feeling perhaps.

It doesn't spark any emotion in me.

Maybe that's the purpose of this animation- to make you mirror his current lack of emotion.

Hopefully, as is suggested, it might pick up.

I'm sorry to those that disagree.



LordMyrddraalLordMyrddraal

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 13, 2010

Fairytale Vs. Epic?

The animation was great as ever (though the young Bitey looked unfinished at times), the setting and creatures are really immersive. In other words, the presentation is almost as flawless as ever.

The previous instalments of Bitey have been true fairy tales. This one feels more like a fantasy epic. Perhaps it's the narration, perhaps it's the shots of fighting between monsters and men, perhaps it's the phrasing "the last of the dashkin" and perhaps it's the look of that wizard at the end, who's style is a real break from Wee and the old blue man. Really it's a combination of all of these, and I'm not sure I like it.

The previous episodes were more Lion Witch and Wardrobe, this one is more Lord of the Rings.

I really really liked the fairy tale atmosphere of the previous episodes, and so does your audience in general. The proof is in the pudding: without any trace of epic fantasy, Bitey has achieved celebrity status. Please don't sacrifice this fairy tale feel for the sake of making it more epic. I'm afraid that this new take is not true to Bitey's roots, and will cost him his appeal.



DarkTrickerDarkTricker

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2010

cool =D

BITEY ROCK'ZZZZ!!! xD



Phoenix40Phoenix40

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2009

Pretty Good...

Not bad, I loved the strange looking animals.