Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


simbriansimbrian

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

narrator kills it

It really sounds like a documentary. The story is easy enough to figure out without a narrator.



heycoolheycool

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 15, 2009

it was ok

it was some what disapointing.
at some points the animation was half way decient but at other parts it seemed as if it was done on ART .
i enjoyed the idea of it being a documentry but it was too short
the music was good but make the narorator a little more "incorporated" but keep it at added a ,ore of a feel to the story.



RenatoleRenardRenatoleRenard

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

Few words

Quite empty. The technique of animation is marvelous, but the story plot suffer from a lack of contenu.



NarvatarNarvatar

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Take some critisism! Give me a chance!

The story is lovely, but that's just it - Bitey was mostly a wild, open-ended character. It's sort of like trapping him if you involve him in a story. I would think that it would be a good story... But at the cost of its wildness.

Oh well, shame really. I'm glad the chronology has been updated. It's superb, overall - its just how you changed tthe usual nature of Bitey that makes it a little... unsatisfying. This would deserve 10/10 if you based it on story before. But it wouln'd be Bitey.

I'm glad you decided to answer questions, but its elusive nature makes it possible to be seen differently from others, not just how you want it to be.

It's repulsive in theme, actually. Fantastic animations and narration is what I should be talking about. But that would be praise, not a review.



Veikk0Veikk0

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 14, 2010

Too different IMHO.

I found this less enjoyable than your earlier Brackenwood flashes, mostly because of the narration. A lot of the beauty of your previous works was in the way the story was told without words. This was more like a trailer for a already-seen "very mysterious" Hollywood movie.

Please tell me the feature film won't have excessive amounts of dialogue!