Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


GasfiendGasfiend

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 6, 2010

Good, but the others were better

I've followed the stories from Brackenwood for years (and certainly hope that the next one doesn't take so long to come out!) The imagination, artistic style, humor, and storytelling evident in each of the episodes truly make them some of the best on Newgrounds. That being said, I definately thought this was one of the weaker ones.
I have to agree with FKProductions, this one felt a bit souless. I think it's because when you get right down to it, it was little more than a rehashing of everything we already knew. I agree that that's cool for newcomers to Brackenwood, but for anyone who's watched the others, there's nothing too much new here. Also, why was there a narrator? None of the other ones had, or needed one. I feel that you have a gift for telling stories without needing voiceovers, and that it definately detracted from the allure of the series to have it come off like a documentary.
Also, I kinda wondered a bit about the story: it's put forth that he's a bitter creature made so by his intelligence and the lack thereof from anything else on the planet. But in previous episodes this is demonstrably not true. He's met a witch and her water-farming friend (who says "Hello" and "Who was that?". Seems to me that if Bitey was so hurting for conversation, maybe he'd have talked to them. And given his speed and curiosity, you'd think he'd have met them some time ago...

Anyways, still a good piece, but overall I didn't agree with a few of your directorial choices. Doesn't mean I'm not looking forward to the next one though!



jxz7jxz7

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2010

I wish I lived in Brakkenwood.

Lets keep the mysticism and the un-narrated, unknown mysteries of this world we call Brakkenwood. Thats what I found so fascinating and appealing about it when I fist saw this stuff. This....makes me worry it might take a direction I wouldnt like so much...

But hey, not my creation.


People find this review helpful!

simbriansimbrian

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

narrator kills it

It really sounds like a documentary. The story is easy enough to figure out without a narrator.



heycoolheycool

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 15, 2009

it was ok

it was some what disapointing.
at some points the animation was half way decient but at other parts it seemed as if it was done on ART .
i enjoyed the idea of it being a documentry but it was too short
the music was good but make the narorator a little more "incorporated" but keep it at added a ,ore of a feel to the story.



RenatoleRenardRenatoleRenard

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

Few words

Quite empty. The technique of animation is marvelous, but the story plot suffer from a lack of contenu.