Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


SmewlessSmewless

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 3, 2010

I really like this series

The voice ruined the unknown in bitey's world though the shadow that i found to be what i liked most about the story. Nangbaby is right.



fury6fury6

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 31, 2010

nice

my sytem hanged !! but i think it's still nice



neko-kidneko-kid

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 4, 2010

needs more

needs more bitey
or more adventures at least



GekonGekon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

nooo

Adam, I'm your big fan for few years, and thing that made your movies unique, was this mystical climate, and fact, that every single one could be finished story.
Now you've created episode, not full, complete movie, and i think that it is not too good for unique productions.
Didn't like the narration too, with this brackenwood short you finished fable, and started story (know what i mean?) and lost all this mythical background.
the last thing that i didn't like was really big glitch in the storyline, you tell us that bitey is the only intelligent creature there, but what with Tea Drinking Witch from "Bitey of Brackenwood"(sorry if wrong title, don't remember) and Auld Sage?
And at last, it wasn't really a brackenwood short ;) at all it looked more like a trailer to "Brackenwood the movie" ;)

liked the graphics and animation, but for Bitey's sake! do not wipe out all this brackenwood magic from your movies!!!!!!!

greetings! (hope this review helps :P)


chluaid responds:

"An intelligent and emotional being in a world of animals.."
"He is the last of his kind."

I've been developing Brackenwood history since 2000 and I've never said Bitey was the only intelligent creature there ;)


BipolarDwarfBipolarDwarf

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 9, 2010

why?

No seriously, why did you make this? In short, you have personified, what were up until this point in the series, the various beasts. Ugh did you really have to add emotion? No. Bitey used to be a cool loner causing all sorts of mischief, but now he is an angsty bitch with parent issues.
Oh, but your animation continues to impress :D