Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


MANTISxBMANTISxB

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 20, 2010

Amazing as always!

To this day you still have some, if not the, best flash animation i have ever seen!!

10/10 on everything.

I would love a Dashkin full length feature film! :D

**sigh**



S-W-A-R-M-generationS-W-A-R-M-generation

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

This should be a feature length film

Incredible, always has been. Peerless among other Newgrounds submissions in regards to artwork and animation, but now a detailed plot?! I've got high expectations for the coming series.

5/5



Blinky-10Blinky-10

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2010

One of, if not thee, best series on Newgrounds.

I mean, seriously, it's so compelling, so well animated, so atmospheric, and ingenious. It's like if James Cameron could write. :P


People find this review helpful!

AngryCogAngryCog

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

Truely inspirational!

this is one of the most beautiful flashes i have seen and its people like you that inspire me to animate i really cant wait to find out the end of Bities story!

the sound fitted perfectly and the commentary was great you sir know how to put a perfect flash together and leave your audience in suspense!

really looking forward to the next installment!

Angry Cog



ZORAK420ZORAK420

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

Late reviewer

The only comment I want to bring up is perhaps the narration of Bitey's emtions.... Most of the whole loathing and loneliness were already well done by the animation already. Not that the narration was bad, no, but this has always been narrated by it's own astounding visuals and music. Although, it does let anyone new to this series get a quick grasp of the depth of this story.

The narration is a lot to take in; a complete shift from pure art, music, and mystery that it was before. The new element of narration works...it's just very different.