Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


MonkiusMonkius

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

AWW, COME ON!!!

You bastard! That was one hell of a cliffhanger. Awesome movie, though.



KuronjiKuronji

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Simply amazing

What can I possibly say to do this work of art justice?
The animation was flawless, the music and sounds fit in perfectly with the atmosphere, and everything just comes together to give off these powerful emotions. It's just a treat to the eyes and ears to watch this. Also, I have to admit I really felt bad for him, I mean, such a wild and powerful creature, yet inside, he feels what all of us feel at some point in life, being lonely is one of the worst pains in the world, after watching this I feel I understand him so much more. Thank you for bringing us this amazing..should I say, back story. 10/10, with ease.



GaborisGaboris

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

I was waitin for this soooooo long ago. :)

Great job again, you can't go wrong with Brackenwood. :3
Just as all others before great graphics, smooth animations, but the best is still that it finaly has a stoy. Can't wait to see what's next. X3
Keep it up you are great! ;)



KamikazetomatoKamikazetomato

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Holy Moly.

And here I was thinking this was a spam submission from somebody pretending to be you. This just made my day.



SassyCatManSassyCatMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Nice to see that your still animatin!

Of course everyone loves your animation your storyboards must be awsemeee!