Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


thiesthies

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Wow.

The art is just so good, that you could submit every single frame of this movie to the art portal.

5/5
10/10


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

That'd take a while. Thanks for the scores!


ruthlesaceruthlesace

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

cool

bin wantin to know more about bitey


People find this review helpful!

EnermaxEnermax

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

The new part of the brackenwood!

This is something we all have been waited for! New brackenwood flash will always make us all happy and pleasant.


People find this review helpful!

Dabingo618Dabingo618

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Adding depth to a memorable, enchanting land.

I remember the time I first saw a brackenwood movie. The world enchanted me, and I loved the characters. There was no real plot, other than Bitey causing mischief around the land. The more I watched the animations, the more I came to love Brackenwood and it's inhabitants. Time passed, and I had forgotten about the movies, and this morning I hop unto Newgrounds and the first thing I see is a silhouette of Bitey as a featured animation. I watched it, and I must tell you that I love it. You've added voice and a plot, and yet you still manage to keep the phenominal style of animation, as well as the bits and pieces that made me love Brackenwood in the first place.

All in all, I just have to thank you for the flashes and hope to see much more in the future!


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

Thanks for noticing :D
After a bit of a false start with a rogue watermark, I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. It's set to Medium quality by default btw, so if your computer can cope, right click and turn it up :)
Thanks again


PerrymanPerryman

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Its good to see another brackenwood

I've been a fan for a long time. I really like your national geographic narration.
All in all your cliffhanger left me disappointed, just really expecting more and wanting more. Can't wait for the next one.


People find this review helpful!