Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


jamboreenjamboreen

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Fantastic

As usual for an Adam Phillips animation there can be no bad said against it, unless you count that it felt quite short!

A fabutastic update on the character, and some nice backstory.

Looking forward to seeing more.



DarkRyuDarkRyu

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Excellent

I love all of the Brackenwood animations, and this one doesn't let down. Though a bit more...serious, I guess you could say, the quality of the animation and storytelling does not disappoint.

Interesting that you chose to go with a backstory for this episode, and I really look forward to your future animations!



alcaknightalcaknight

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Amazing job, Adam.

Your forum will now rise in population. :D



TonashTonash

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

The Best Bitey thus far

As per usual, the graphical quality is beyond unreal. In addition to that, this is the first time that true, visible plot has been brought to light. Not only granting us a synopsis of Bitey's life, but also his origin and an attempt to reveal that there's much more to come than simple forest life. In addition to that, the narration was done with a flawless quality, even in some of the better works of Newgrounds, occasional mic problems occur or some editing was left undone, but here it was simply flawless.
Prior to this episode, I viewed the series only out of the sheer awe for the mastery of the art and animation of the videos. This installment however, has brought new life into the series and I anxiously await the next arrival in the collection.



jz113jz113

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

whoa!

holy crap, dude. i mean, wow.... this is epic! ive been waiting for another bitey flick, so im excited as hell! i was on DevArt for a couple of minutes, and i go on NG for 3 seconds and its right there on the featured box. i have never seen a flash thats still under judgement, while being featured at the same time! GRATZ DUDE!!!