Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


WormofsandWormofsand

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Most certainly a different direction

So way wait, does this mean there's going to be story of sorts from now on? Not just Bitey causing mischief? Cool! I'm down with that. Does this mean will finally get some answers to what they YuYu were doing to him?

Well as far as Brackenwood flashes go, this was not what I expected (as I stated earlier). I kind of had my heart set on the typical self-centered mischief and the hilarious consequences that go along with it. However you gave us something interesting instead.

Pros: I really liked the narrator, her voice was perfect to set the tone for what I hope will an amazing story.

The animation has also improved since Waterlollies, the attention to detail is astounding.

Cons: There build up at the end was kind of hallow. It didn't quite convey the sense of intrigue that it should of for a project like this.

I liked it a lot and will continue to look forward to your work.


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

Thanks for watching and reviewing! Hopefully the conclusion will make it all worthwhile, and if I can manage to pull off a similar work schedule again, it won't be too long :)


PoloniumPolonium

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

two somewhat significant gripes

1. if I view this toon with Opera then the movie assumes the .swf is an illegal copy and a watermark obscures the movie; don't force me to use Firefox like that...!

2. your usage of Flash filters like blur and glow was rather vulgar and very processor-unfriendly; I always admired your ability to make things look stunning through traditional-ish methods and not lame digital effects, and you've let me down there

minus a point for each of those annoyances, but otherwise a predictably and consistently amazing job from you yet again

$


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

There's no watermark now. Apologies for the filters deal if it slowed things down for you. I'm making my shorts with video formats in mind these days but this one was pretty much solely for the NG audience. I'll be good from now on ;)


CaptbigbeardCaptbigbeard

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Amazing, brilliant, and fantastic

One thing I've always loved about the Brakenwood was the simplicity of the story. I enjoyed watching bitey dash around and be a big d-bag. So I'm not sure I fully welcome the idea of giving the story a strict narrative and defining the world and character. It may ruin the mystery that makes this land of yours so special and unique. I also dislike the idea of an obviously sentient and intelligent race being present. Ruins the feeling of it being such a primitive world.

However, I cannot deny that this new approach to the world is anything but 100% professional and crafted with amazing and loving skill. Although I hate my favorite series moving around from it's traditional mold into something a bit more... sturdy... in the end, adding a strong story to the world may actually be a very smart move. Besides, wtf do I know... your a god in my eyes!

Whatever the case, this movie and entire series stands as one of the most unique, professional, and utterly jaw dropping series on newgrounds, and may very well the the BEST series and individual flashes on newgrounds or any other flash movie site.

You sire have proven once agian to be the utter and complete master of flash animation.

Best flash you've done yet and I dunno how you manage to outdo yourself every time considering all your work is of such high quality.

PS- the voice actor is f*in amazing. Perfect fit.


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

Thanks Captn. Brackenwood has always had a deep, dark history and in order for it to move forward, ideally to the big screen, it needed to move beyond the simple "dash-around-being-a-d-bag" plotless things. It's the overwhelming vibe I got from fans and other viewers too, that they wanted to know more about who he is and where he's headed. Thanks for the review and the score dude.


HarpersguildHarpersguild

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

You Never Disappoint

True to your other works, this work seems fit for the big screen. No matter how long I wait for a new chapter in the Brackenwood world, no matter how many expectations I build up, you blaze through with a brilliant intensity and amazing creativity. The musical scoring is top notch, the animation style flawless and the storyline complex and intriguing. You are all that's best in Newgrounds.


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

thanks a lot! The music guy did an incredible job and it helps that he's wanted to do something with Brackenwood for several years. He put a lot of heart and soul in here. Glad you liked all the other stuff too so thanks for taking the time to type it :D


BotarBotar

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

I can see....

that a new epic tale of brakenwood.... is about to unfold
great job :D


People find this review helpful!