Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


RotsaeRotsae

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

WOOOHOOOO

Yay finally something new from you, it must be Christmas XD. Can't wait for more.



TemrozelaTemrozela

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

AWESOME

Truly amazing. i love your style.



FoolioloFooliolo

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Wonderful as expected

Great realism, detail, music, and narrative. But I suppose you might want to know how to better improve? One real complaint and two minor complaints.

The first minor complaint is that the animation for the mystery witch at the end and the giant in the genocide scene is a bit choppy.

The second minor complaint is that the narrator can be a bit hard to hear at times, specifically in the beginning scenes.

The real complaint is that it seems there could be more diversity in the wildlife. Are there any major aquatic creatures for instance? I suppose if there's any real bias in this complaint, it's that we keep seeing the same creatures over and over. Now it's not a bad thing in your other works, but this particular piece you've completed seems like it begs to have a better introduction to whatever pretentious movie or film you are designing. I mean, you give it a narrative that includes many elements that make up a longer story, and it asks moral questions. It has GOT to be the beginning of a larger story! And it's even more ominous that the witch at the end is part of the same kin that ended the Dashkins.

But those were my thoughts when I watched this flash movie. I wish you the best success in your future endeavors! =)


People find this review helpful!

bluegriffenbluegriffen

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Just like the rest favorited.

The only artist who I five every time before I even watch the flash. Can't wait to see what you do with the story now.



GonzossmGonzossm

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Fantastic.

I see no flaws in this. I love how you do the enviroments so sexy ;D


People find this review helpful!