Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


docgalodocgalo

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

This is Fantastic

I liked this entire Flash.



bcompbcomp

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

Eh.

n the first minute I found myself wondering if this wasn't an elaborate fan flick someone had somehow uploaded from your account. The animation towards the beginning felt very rushed and misproportioned - nothing like the fantastic work in waterlollies - and the narration made the whole thing feel like an episode of Planet Earth or Discovery channel or something like that.

In fact, the lack of speech or dialogue is what I always loved about brackenwood movies; they felt more legendary or universal somehow. Like parables. Now it feels exploited somehow.

Still like the fantastic settings though. Hope your old, wonderful style of storytelling makes a comeback. Cheers.


People find this review helpful!

TriplePlay2425TriplePlay2425

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

FINALLY!

I have been waiting very patiently for this ever since Waterlollies! The Brackenwood series is my favorite Newgrounds series, and I just love the short stories of the others, and can't wait for a feature and future shorts!

Brilliant art, very creative and well-thought out ideas in each episode. And this one is no exception, although I'm left wanting to know more!


chluaid responds:

thanks for sticking around for a new one. Hopefully the sequel won't be too far behind :)


MegaUltraTronMegaUltraTron

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

....... Wow

I remember watching Bitey of Brackenwood a couple years back when it was new, and not liking it. I was an idiot back then. I gave this new one a shot, and after watching it, I ust had to go back and watch the rest of this spectacular series. Every time, I feel as if I'm in the theater watching a high end feature film. The stunning animation, the delightful music, the wonderful characters, the beautiful world you've created and all manage to convey humor, wonder and emotion without using hardly any dialogue at all. Your animation skills are simply unparalleled to any other flash animation I've ever seen. All I can say now is, fantastic job, and I excitedly look forward to your next, undoubtedly amazing, installment.


chluaid responds:

thanks so much for the review and giving me a second chance :D


Da-ArsonistDa-Arsonist

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

Nothing les than AWESOME

Keep up the good wrk man! The Brackenwood series is among my favs on NG and you haven't let me down yet keep it coming. Have you ever thought about making a complete flash movie? I know it would be alot of work but you probably have alot of material and plots for the series that u could probably tie into 1 epic flash!!! i dunno if it can be done but it was just a thought. anyway keep it coming


chluaid responds:

I do plan on making something very big, but it won't be in Flash. The program fights me all the way on anything over 3-4 minutes so a 90 minute .swf is almost unfathomable X)
Keep an eye out for me though, there's big things in the works! Thanks for the review