Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


KillerKillingKillerKillerKillingKiller

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

Wow

I dont know why, but this was simple marvelous!
I got goosebumps like god knows HOW many times.
That speaker was amazing, fit so well with the story!
I just wish that i could give more than a 10...

... I'm gunna buy a shirt!


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

Thanks in advance, glad you liked it and thanks for the review :D


MiyosakuraMiyosakura

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

Keep them coming!

I love your series very original and i love the animation and art work you really put into this, and also the plot you have going on it great too. Cant wait till the next!


chluaid responds:

Thanks very much! The bigger plot is something that has been in place for several years but I'd been saving it for the feature film. Now though, I want to tell some of that history without spoiling the big picture. Thanks for your review :)


EbonyCrescentEbonyCrescent

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

Amazing!

Truly a visual treat :) The animation was extremely smooth, and the sound effects, music and narration really fit along . Really well done! I'm looking forward to continuation!


chluaid responds:

It shouldn't be long until the next. I've been motivated by reviews here so started storyboarding early.


OZpruductionOZpruduction

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

The animation was great...

The animation was great and all, but I loved it better when nobody was speaking...


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

I'm trialling a version on my site that contains an option to mute the narration, leaving just the music and sound effects. Head over there and check it out if you're interested. If it's well received, I'll update the movie here on NG.


SwolSwol

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2009

MANNNNN!

Great back story. it make sense to all of ur previous shorts. explains why hes like he is. and the back story brings in a new story. i really really really cant wait for it. this is really awsome. gl on the next installment, because we, your fans, will be waiting eagerally til the day u release it. ^.^


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

thanks so much :)