Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


sparkerssparkers

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

you're better than this, adam

honestly, the bitey animations are unmatched on newgrounds when it comes to art and direction, but this one lacked polish. i've been watching the series since the beginning and every installment topped its predecessor, but this wasn't anywhere near as incredible as waterlollies. the level of detail was inconsistent; sometimes it rivaled the detail of littlefoot and the yuyu, but other times it was like watching prowlies at the river. although it's still one of the best works on newgrounds, it's one of the worst in the series. it's a great flash movie, but not a great piece of art.


People find this review helpful!

fxdgyfd2fxdgyfd2

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

It should be 11

Cutting edge graphics and perfect details make this animation the best of its kind. I truly think it deserves an 11


People find this review helpful!

seclife321seclife321

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

awesome

Amazing graphics and compelling story. Can't wait to find out what happens next.


People find this review helpful!

ThayzerThayzer

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

Good

It's been a while since I've been to Brackenwood, but it was well worth the wait. High Quality Animation, wonderful audio, and an ever-deepening story makes me want more.


People find this review helpful!

fliberdigibitfliberdigibit

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

masterfully crafted

it must be tough when you're expected to do something completely perfect. This is by no means perfect, but I believe, Mr. Phillips, you are about as close as it's gonna get. Your keen eye for details only seem to get more intricate with each story.

You have raised the bar for flash animation once again! You continue to inspire the world and I assure you, those like myself will be eagerly waiting for the next installment of the brackenwood story.

Raphael mastered sculpture, Michelangelo mastered painting, and you, sir have mastered flash!


People find this review helpful!