Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 25, 2009 | 12:19 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place November 26, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place December 1, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Gem Collector 5 Points Collect 100 Gems.
Time Waster 5 Points Play to day 7 and beyond.
Gem Connoisseur 10 Points Collect All Giant Gems.
Gem Hoarder 10 Points Collect 400 Gems.
Moving the Mail 10 Points Find all the checkpoints in the level.
Dashing Course Legend 25 Points Beat the Super Dashing Course in under 25 seconds.
Fountain of Knowledge 25 Points Fill out every entry in the Codex.
Gem Addict 25 Points Collect every Red Gem on the Level.
Mad Skills 25 Points Buy every skill.
Grinding Maniac 50 Points Max out every single level type.
Heartbreaker 50 Points Defeat Nightmare with only 1 LOVE level.
Insomniac 50 Points Complete the game without ever sleeping.
Obsessive 100 Points Get 100% completion.

Author Comments

UPDATE: MEDALS ARE NOW FIXED.
- Air Recovery altered slightly. It gives a short burst of invincibility and pushes you into the air a bit so you can avoid getting it again.
- Worked a bit on the medal reloading script. If you unlocked medals before but the Newgrounds site didn't register it, try reloading the game. It's not foolproof but it should work most of the time.
- Fixed a few minor bugs and glitches.

I'm still trying to address the issue of the game not loading for a small number of people. Please be patient, it's quite hard to fix a problem when you don't know exactly what is causing it.

Inspired by Upgrade Complete, This game is a tribute to anyone who has ever sat there playing a game doing the same repeatable set of actions in order to get a arbitrary number to go up. It's a game about exploration, amnesia and collecting. Every action is will give you experience; You can gain levels in just about everything you do, from Jumping to Taking Damage to standing still and doing nothing at all. The world is sandbox, you can go anywhere you like as long as you level up enough. There is a catch though. Every night a re-occurring nightmare will rob you of everything if you can't survive it.

I have this love affair with Platformers and RPG's and this was my shot and bringing them together in an exciting taste explosion, with a little design flair of my own, some excellent editing/writing from Kayn, spiffy cut scene art from Gigas and awesome music from Triplefox. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it.

I'm desperately trying to get fixes checked in for the various problems reported. I've located the cause in the game. It's just uploading to NG that is causing me problems now as I have to wait an indeterminate amount of time between upload an update and it going live. I'll post something in nice big caps once it's all good again.

Yes, you can beat nightmare. Yes it's supposed to be really hard, that what nightmares are like. I made quite a few concessions along the way to make it easier than I had planned. I'm going to upload some Youtube videos of it being done. It's not as hard as it first may seem. Getting the Heart breaker achievement is MUCH trickier, I've yet to capture it on cam to prove it's do-able. The racing one is tricky. Max all your levels and a few well timed DASHES should get you through.

Some people might not like the ending, it was never the real heart of the game. I'm a big believer in games being about what you play rather than what you don't. Without the narrative that was created for the ending the world wouldn't be nearly as interesting as it is. In fact the game over all would be a little more dull because of it. The sequel is in the works, I'm already well into making it (get 100% completion and you can get an idea of -how- well started I am), I subscribe to running open devlogs of stuff I'm working on because it's what the players think that is important. It should be appearing Spring next year.

Development Blog for the sequel, Gather Up:
http://www.nifty-hat.blog spot.com/

The walkthrough, which is seriously a work in progress is here:
http://titch007uk.newgrou nds.com/news/post/408038
If you are having trouble with either filling the codex or getting all the giant gems, check in. Theres still a bit of work to be done. It's the first walkthrough I've written and I'm -not- a fast typist ( unless it's AS3 code ^_^)

Thanks for playing :)

Thanks everyone for all the positive reviews, rates, feedback, oh and being told my game could 'die in a fire' because the boss was so hard. You have to work hard to get that level of frustration out of someone. ^_^

Reviews


VanniusVannius

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

i must... get all...

touch everything. upgrade all stuff. buy everything. must get lvls. must play this til i have ALL!!!

Nice addictive game. Keep on upgrading the oldschool gaming man!



BobtehLogBobtehLog

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

It's rare to come apon a game like this!!

Honestly, this has got to be one the best game I have played in a long time. I love the nightmare fights, and if you lose, you lose everything. The ending too was a major twist, and after I got 100% the demo was awesome. Especially about the level 0 jump! I found that amusing

Great game and I look forward to the next one!!



gubbyitssgubbyitss

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 10, 2010

RANT RANT RANT RANT

Okay, so. I get more gems, more skills and then i fight the boss right? But they make the boss fight so hard! Its fucking impossible. I get the whole smash rocks on him and collect his gems thing but he still beats the shit out of you...



DaerynDaeryn

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2009

A balanced dose of OCD

This is one of those most enjoyable games I've played on newgrounds - it's rather hard for me to find anything to critique.

Level Up has an old-school feel and follows its theme very well - the pixelated graphics made me feel like I was in a 16-bit SNES game, in a good way. The controls are intuitive and responsive; whenever I failed to make a jump or got hit by an enemy I never had reason to think that control lag was the culprit. World design was exceptional - very balanced, including areas that became progressively available as levels were gained and managing to not ever grow TOO stale, with the possible exception of the mines and the tunnels that shared the same look. The game's mechanics were similarly easy to understand: how to level each trait and two ways to earn each skill. The 'story' was also entertaining - slightly sarcastic yet humorous dialog and a lot of witticisms in the codex. My favorite 'character' is the lever - double entendre jokes work well with me :)

As I said there are very few negatives I can think of - that said, here is my list of constructive criticism.
a) Getting the HARDY skill from the roundites appears almost too difficult to accomplish. Taking damage five times in midair sounds like it can only be accomplished by hitting the wasps with air recovery, and it's just a BIT much to ask for - especially after adding the invulnerability.
b) The Shadow tends to get stuck under the ledges on either side, running away from the wall yet staying in place - which would not be so bad but for how it prevents the shadow from taking damage.
c) Not entirely sure I like having the Shadow's dark gems vanish - especially since they can do so while in flight to you, and doubly so since they can have a tendency to circle you instead of being collected.
d) Saw a bug where a falling rock's shadow got stuck in one spot on the floor, even after the rocks hit - it was there the next night too.
e) In the same way that level 5 fortitude can let you evade lava's damage, so too can you evade the Shadow's level 1 attacks; is this intentional? It feels like it shouldn't work that way.
f) The dim gems that appear after you lose to the shadow let you ultimately pass the single-day maximum - and conversely if you DONT lose to the shadow that set maximum may prevent you from getting all skills and relationship levels if you're not careful. I'm not sure how to do this BETTER, but it feels like somehow keeping you from getting more red gems than normally exist would be a good goal...something like only replacing (total gem locations collected - currently held gems) with dim gems - I dunno.

Overall I enjoyed this game a LOT; I spent the time to get all of the achievements, including HEARTBREAKER - yikes. I realize that's part of the game's joke, too - that people WILL spend time levelling up for vaguely specified goals... but it's still fun!

The preview of Gather Up looks interesting, if definitely not as polished yet; I'll be looking forward to it to see how it compares to Level Up.

Well done!

-Daeryn


People find this review helpful!

FateMaster33FateMaster33

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 26, 2009

Nice game - 100% complete

awesome game, its pretty easy to kill the nighmare after day 4
loved the grafics and the 100% reward
cant wait the sequence.