Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 25, 2009 | 12:19 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place November 26, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place December 1, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Gem Collector 5 Points Collect 100 Gems.
Time Waster 5 Points Play to day 7 and beyond.
Gem Connoisseur 10 Points Collect All Giant Gems.
Gem Hoarder 10 Points Collect 400 Gems.
Moving the Mail 10 Points Find all the checkpoints in the level.
Dashing Course Legend 25 Points Beat the Super Dashing Course in under 25 seconds.
Fountain of Knowledge 25 Points Fill out every entry in the Codex.
Gem Addict 25 Points Collect every Red Gem on the Level.
Mad Skills 25 Points Buy every skill.
Grinding Maniac 50 Points Max out every single level type.
Heartbreaker 50 Points Defeat Nightmare with only 1 LOVE level.
Insomniac 50 Points Complete the game without ever sleeping.
Obsessive 100 Points Get 100% completion.

Author Comments

UPDATE: MEDALS ARE NOW FIXED.
- Air Recovery altered slightly. It gives a short burst of invincibility and pushes you into the air a bit so you can avoid getting it again.
- Worked a bit on the medal reloading script. If you unlocked medals before but the Newgrounds site didn't register it, try reloading the game. It's not foolproof but it should work most of the time.
- Fixed a few minor bugs and glitches.

I'm still trying to address the issue of the game not loading for a small number of people. Please be patient, it's quite hard to fix a problem when you don't know exactly what is causing it.

Inspired by Upgrade Complete, This game is a tribute to anyone who has ever sat there playing a game doing the same repeatable set of actions in order to get a arbitrary number to go up. It's a game about exploration, amnesia and collecting. Every action is will give you experience; You can gain levels in just about everything you do, from Jumping to Taking Damage to standing still and doing nothing at all. The world is sandbox, you can go anywhere you like as long as you level up enough. There is a catch though. Every night a re-occurring nightmare will rob you of everything if you can't survive it.

I have this love affair with Platformers and RPG's and this was my shot and bringing them together in an exciting taste explosion, with a little design flair of my own, some excellent editing/writing from Kayn, spiffy cut scene art from Gigas and awesome music from Triplefox. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it.

I'm desperately trying to get fixes checked in for the various problems reported. I've located the cause in the game. It's just uploading to NG that is causing me problems now as I have to wait an indeterminate amount of time between upload an update and it going live. I'll post something in nice big caps once it's all good again.

Yes, you can beat nightmare. Yes it's supposed to be really hard, that what nightmares are like. I made quite a few concessions along the way to make it easier than I had planned. I'm going to upload some Youtube videos of it being done. It's not as hard as it first may seem. Getting the Heart breaker achievement is MUCH trickier, I've yet to capture it on cam to prove it's do-able. The racing one is tricky. Max all your levels and a few well timed DASHES should get you through.

Some people might not like the ending, it was never the real heart of the game. I'm a big believer in games being about what you play rather than what you don't. Without the narrative that was created for the ending the world wouldn't be nearly as interesting as it is. In fact the game over all would be a little more dull because of it. The sequel is in the works, I'm already well into making it (get 100% completion and you can get an idea of -how- well started I am), I subscribe to running open devlogs of stuff I'm working on because it's what the players think that is important. It should be appearing Spring next year.

Development Blog for the sequel, Gather Up:
http://www.nifty-hat.blog spot.com/

The walkthrough, which is seriously a work in progress is here:
http://titch007uk.newgrou nds.com/news/post/408038
If you are having trouble with either filling the codex or getting all the giant gems, check in. Theres still a bit of work to be done. It's the first walkthrough I've written and I'm -not- a fast typist ( unless it's AS3 code ^_^)

Thanks for playing :)

Thanks everyone for all the positive reviews, rates, feedback, oh and being told my game could 'die in a fire' because the boss was so hard. You have to work hard to get that level of frustration out of someone. ^_^

Reviews


ZyrotechZyrotech

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 22, 2010

Loved it!!!!

Played it on MoFunZone though so i didnt get any medals...

I did get my 100% completion though and the new game looks fun!


People find this review helpful!

blazecallblazecall

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2011

very fun game

it's very fun but it can also be extremely short if you play around a bit too much and find the ending XD



HorripilatedHorripilated

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2010

*is now brain dead*

So I've just spent hooooooooooooooours playing this thing, and I came across a few bugs.

1) The not-really-a-big-deal-thing - Once your collecting level hits the max and gems are drawn towards you, sometimes they just kind of end up orbiting you. I chased one of them around the screen for several second before finally having to throw myself off a cliff to catch it.

2) Whilst fighting Nightmare, when he summons the giant bolders, after one wave of them there were dents left in the florr and they stayed there throughout the rest of the fight rather than disappearing like they're meant to. Again only a minor aesthetic thing but just mentioning it in case it means something underlying is going wrong in the script.

3) There appears to be a problem as the final gem IS NOT there :P Seriously, I got stuck at 99.7% just running round and round trying to find that damned thing day after day. I shall await the video walkthrough so I can finally find it and rest easy.

Sorry for the mammoth review, but it's a mammoth achievement so I felt it worth the time it took to actually think about it. I sat and tried to come up with any possible tweaks you could make to it, but couldn't think of any. So I'll just give you three thumbs up and tell you to go work on the sequel.

Now if you don't mind, I'm off to lie down before I fall down ;)


People find this review helpful!

legendoflinklegendoflink

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 28, 2009

nice game...nice game.....dont hurt me!!!!!!!!waa!

nice game although how do you open the doors at the end i have all the blue gems all stats beat the boss (for those of you who are to dumb to figure out you have to hit him with his rocks im telling you now) all codex but one (i think thats the final boss if there is one besides the shadow) and yea nice game i also dont have all gems but i have 648/660 of them ( i see some gems i cant figure out to get ) the running thing was awesome also why did you have to put a medal for 25 seconds! thats impossible...also when i go on lava with full forfority i dont get hurt :) i can run on lava!!!!:D also one time when i was beating the boss i was literly invincable he cant hurt me this was by far awesome but it kinda took out the awesomeness and the action please fix this i dont know what i did to make it this way... oh and i had to restart my game once because at the beginning of that one boss the shadow with flaming sword he went straight through the ground! i had to restart the game! :( :( :( please fix the first boss glitches okay? also medal dont work too good.... :(

~thank you for reading my review~
~ signed~
~the legend of link~
~10/10~
~p.s.~
~hope for a sequal and keep this work up!~



redwolf7xredwolf7x

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 30, 2009

I really enjoy these types of games...

... which is sad because they're supposed to be a farce. Oh well! This game was very well put together and the dialogue between the different characters was funny.