Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 25, 2009 | 12:19 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place November 26, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place December 1, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Gem Collector 5 Points Collect 100 Gems.
Time Waster 5 Points Play to day 7 and beyond.
Gem Connoisseur 10 Points Collect All Giant Gems.
Gem Hoarder 10 Points Collect 400 Gems.
Moving the Mail 10 Points Find all the checkpoints in the level.
Dashing Course Legend 25 Points Beat the Super Dashing Course in under 25 seconds.
Fountain of Knowledge 25 Points Fill out every entry in the Codex.
Gem Addict 25 Points Collect every Red Gem on the Level.
Mad Skills 25 Points Buy every skill.
Grinding Maniac 50 Points Max out every single level type.
Heartbreaker 50 Points Defeat Nightmare with only 1 LOVE level.
Insomniac 50 Points Complete the game without ever sleeping.
Obsessive 100 Points Get 100% completion.

Author Comments

UPDATE: MEDALS ARE NOW FIXED.
- Air Recovery altered slightly. It gives a short burst of invincibility and pushes you into the air a bit so you can avoid getting it again.
- Worked a bit on the medal reloading script. If you unlocked medals before but the Newgrounds site didn't register it, try reloading the game. It's not foolproof but it should work most of the time.
- Fixed a few minor bugs and glitches.

I'm still trying to address the issue of the game not loading for a small number of people. Please be patient, it's quite hard to fix a problem when you don't know exactly what is causing it.

Inspired by Upgrade Complete, This game is a tribute to anyone who has ever sat there playing a game doing the same repeatable set of actions in order to get a arbitrary number to go up. It's a game about exploration, amnesia and collecting. Every action is will give you experience; You can gain levels in just about everything you do, from Jumping to Taking Damage to standing still and doing nothing at all. The world is sandbox, you can go anywhere you like as long as you level up enough. There is a catch though. Every night a re-occurring nightmare will rob you of everything if you can't survive it.

I have this love affair with Platformers and RPG's and this was my shot and bringing them together in an exciting taste explosion, with a little design flair of my own, some excellent editing/writing from Kayn, spiffy cut scene art from Gigas and awesome music from Triplefox. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it.

I'm desperately trying to get fixes checked in for the various problems reported. I've located the cause in the game. It's just uploading to NG that is causing me problems now as I have to wait an indeterminate amount of time between upload an update and it going live. I'll post something in nice big caps once it's all good again.

Yes, you can beat nightmare. Yes it's supposed to be really hard, that what nightmares are like. I made quite a few concessions along the way to make it easier than I had planned. I'm going to upload some Youtube videos of it being done. It's not as hard as it first may seem. Getting the Heart breaker achievement is MUCH trickier, I've yet to capture it on cam to prove it's do-able. The racing one is tricky. Max all your levels and a few well timed DASHES should get you through.

Some people might not like the ending, it was never the real heart of the game. I'm a big believer in games being about what you play rather than what you don't. Without the narrative that was created for the ending the world wouldn't be nearly as interesting as it is. In fact the game over all would be a little more dull because of it. The sequel is in the works, I'm already well into making it (get 100% completion and you can get an idea of -how- well started I am), I subscribe to running open devlogs of stuff I'm working on because it's what the players think that is important. It should be appearing Spring next year.

Development Blog for the sequel, Gather Up:
http://www.nifty-hat.blog spot.com/

The walkthrough, which is seriously a work in progress is here:
http://titch007uk.newgrou nds.com/news/post/408038
If you are having trouble with either filling the codex or getting all the giant gems, check in. Theres still a bit of work to be done. It's the first walkthrough I've written and I'm -not- a fast typist ( unless it's AS3 code ^_^)

Thanks for playing :)

Thanks everyone for all the positive reviews, rates, feedback, oh and being told my game could 'die in a fire' because the boss was so hard. You have to work hard to get that level of frustration out of someone. ^_^

Reviews


TooDAMNMuchTooDAMNMuch

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

win

yeah, pretty good game, only thing that could be improved i'd say is possibly think of another way to get your players to realise that even though the levels are lost every end of the day, progress isn't.

i really expected this to be a game i'd never see the end of, thankfully i did though.
can't wait for the sequel.



Black-lceBlack-lce

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

Amazing

Great game, very addictive. The pixel graphics fitted very well and the game was still fun to play, even if you finished the game. However, I stumbled upon the smae bug as LucianValarian did; the game froze up when I had 7 hearts and talked with the boy once more.



greeneggs4spamgreeneggs4spam

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

GAH!

Great game, but when fighting the boss if you dash through the flames and stuff it automatically kills you; which really sucks. All it takes is one accidental tap of the arrow key and it's all over. I think maybe he shouldn't take damage in dash mode from the flames or something.

Otherwise it's a lot of fun!



TwiceTheMegaPowerTwiceTheMegaPower

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

really nice1

Great controls, great writing, great art style.
This is a really nice, well rounded game.
Keep up the good work.

10/10
5/5



RansomRansom

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

Fantastic game

Totally addictive. It's easy to tell you love making games, this has got so much passion flowing from it. This is one of the best Flash games I've ever played.

Unfortunately my game froze after using the giant computer, so when I refreshed the browser I was sad to notice that nothing i had done was saved, despite the end of each nightmare telling me that my game was saved. I don't think I want to go through all that again, so that's a shame.

Nevertheless, the graphics were fun, the gameplay and idea was appealing, and it was well made. Thank you!


People find this review helpful!