Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 25, 2009 | 12:19 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place November 26, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place December 1, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Gem Collector 5 Points Collect 100 Gems.
Time Waster 5 Points Play to day 7 and beyond.
Gem Connoisseur 10 Points Collect All Giant Gems.
Gem Hoarder 10 Points Collect 400 Gems.
Moving the Mail 10 Points Find all the checkpoints in the level.
Dashing Course Legend 25 Points Beat the Super Dashing Course in under 25 seconds.
Fountain of Knowledge 25 Points Fill out every entry in the Codex.
Gem Addict 25 Points Collect every Red Gem on the Level.
Mad Skills 25 Points Buy every skill.
Grinding Maniac 50 Points Max out every single level type.
Heartbreaker 50 Points Defeat Nightmare with only 1 LOVE level.
Insomniac 50 Points Complete the game without ever sleeping.
Obsessive 100 Points Get 100% completion.

Author Comments

UPDATE: MEDALS ARE NOW FIXED.
- Air Recovery altered slightly. It gives a short burst of invincibility and pushes you into the air a bit so you can avoid getting it again.
- Worked a bit on the medal reloading script. If you unlocked medals before but the Newgrounds site didn't register it, try reloading the game. It's not foolproof but it should work most of the time.
- Fixed a few minor bugs and glitches.

I'm still trying to address the issue of the game not loading for a small number of people. Please be patient, it's quite hard to fix a problem when you don't know exactly what is causing it.

Inspired by Upgrade Complete, This game is a tribute to anyone who has ever sat there playing a game doing the same repeatable set of actions in order to get a arbitrary number to go up. It's a game about exploration, amnesia and collecting. Every action is will give you experience; You can gain levels in just about everything you do, from Jumping to Taking Damage to standing still and doing nothing at all. The world is sandbox, you can go anywhere you like as long as you level up enough. There is a catch though. Every night a re-occurring nightmare will rob you of everything if you can't survive it.

I have this love affair with Platformers and RPG's and this was my shot and bringing them together in an exciting taste explosion, with a little design flair of my own, some excellent editing/writing from Kayn, spiffy cut scene art from Gigas and awesome music from Triplefox. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it.

I'm desperately trying to get fixes checked in for the various problems reported. I've located the cause in the game. It's just uploading to NG that is causing me problems now as I have to wait an indeterminate amount of time between upload an update and it going live. I'll post something in nice big caps once it's all good again.

Yes, you can beat nightmare. Yes it's supposed to be really hard, that what nightmares are like. I made quite a few concessions along the way to make it easier than I had planned. I'm going to upload some Youtube videos of it being done. It's not as hard as it first may seem. Getting the Heart breaker achievement is MUCH trickier, I've yet to capture it on cam to prove it's do-able. The racing one is tricky. Max all your levels and a few well timed DASHES should get you through.

Some people might not like the ending, it was never the real heart of the game. I'm a big believer in games being about what you play rather than what you don't. Without the narrative that was created for the ending the world wouldn't be nearly as interesting as it is. In fact the game over all would be a little more dull because of it. The sequel is in the works, I'm already well into making it (get 100% completion and you can get an idea of -how- well started I am), I subscribe to running open devlogs of stuff I'm working on because it's what the players think that is important. It should be appearing Spring next year.

Development Blog for the sequel, Gather Up:
http://www.nifty-hat.blog spot.com/

The walkthrough, which is seriously a work in progress is here:
http://titch007uk.newgrou nds.com/news/post/408038
If you are having trouble with either filling the codex or getting all the giant gems, check in. Theres still a bit of work to be done. It's the first walkthrough I've written and I'm -not- a fast typist ( unless it's AS3 code ^_^)

Thanks for playing :)

Thanks everyone for all the positive reviews, rates, feedback, oh and being told my game could 'die in a fire' because the boss was so hard. You have to work hard to get that level of frustration out of someone. ^_^

Reviews


AchronAchron

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

It was good... but...

The glitches really kill this game for me (and probably almost everyone). It's an interesting idea, pretty well executed, except for the game ending glitches. For some reason, after I have beaten the nightmare and talk to The Boy again, the game freezes. For a pretty buggy game, it gets a six. If it didn't have these issues, it would've easily gotten a nine or maybe even a ten if the ending wasn't so... reachable. Only a hundred gems to get to it? That seems a little odd to me.

Also, to the people bashing the stat reset if you fail to beat the nightmare, get over it. A boss is supposed to be difficult, and failure is supposed to have consequences.

On a final note: Fix the glitches and your game is gold. Can't wait for the next part, if there is one.


People find this review helpful!

UberredheadofdoomUberredheadofdoom

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

I really enjoyed it!

The game froze on me, and it didn't save right or something. But as for how to get the heartbreaker achievement, it's quite simple, it was the second I got, the first being Gem Collector. All you have to do is get the Dash ability and continually hurl yourself into a wall. You remain in a constant state of invincibility and it shouldn't take too long until he gets himself hit. Then you dash across the screen, grab the gems and repeat. I didn't get very far, and I intend to continue it another time. I hope this helps!



MyThiKaLMyThiKaL

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

Yay

Arghhhh 98 percent. Sooo frustrating. Great game though
One thing I didn't like was how the ending was drawn. But as you said in your commentary, that wasn't really the point so whatever right?



KOH2KOH2

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

Just loving it

It's a very good game, story is nice and the leveling systeme is a pretty good idea.

I have just a little problem, i got stuck after finishing at 100% the game, launch the "bonus", when entering in the temple, after the pannel, i jumped right, and then left, and got stuck of the sort of beast head and so i cant jump anymore xD.

But, i will try tomorrow to finish this awesome game :)



TristanownzTristanownz

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 25, 2009

Omygod

I just spent 5 hours on this game to get 100%...
But the medals don't work..
Omygod. I stayed up till 1AM.. And I have school tomorrow..

Imma go sleep. This blows. Altho I am not downrating it now.

The overall gameplay was okay, it was a fun game to play. But sometimes I died at the shadow when I was half HP. (Maybe I ran out of time) Anyways good game, I liked it . 8/10. Please please fix the medals and give some more hints on the Codex.


People find this review helpful!