Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 25, 2009 | 12:19 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place November 26, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place December 1, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Gem Collector 5 Points Collect 100 Gems.
Time Waster 5 Points Play to day 7 and beyond.
Gem Connoisseur 10 Points Collect All Giant Gems.
Gem Hoarder 10 Points Collect 400 Gems.
Moving the Mail 10 Points Find all the checkpoints in the level.
Dashing Course Legend 25 Points Beat the Super Dashing Course in under 25 seconds.
Fountain of Knowledge 25 Points Fill out every entry in the Codex.
Gem Addict 25 Points Collect every Red Gem on the Level.
Mad Skills 25 Points Buy every skill.
Grinding Maniac 50 Points Max out every single level type.
Heartbreaker 50 Points Defeat Nightmare with only 1 LOVE level.
Insomniac 50 Points Complete the game without ever sleeping.
Obsessive 100 Points Get 100% completion.

Author Comments

UPDATE: MEDALS ARE NOW FIXED.
- Air Recovery altered slightly. It gives a short burst of invincibility and pushes you into the air a bit so you can avoid getting it again.
- Worked a bit on the medal reloading script. If you unlocked medals before but the Newgrounds site didn't register it, try reloading the game. It's not foolproof but it should work most of the time.
- Fixed a few minor bugs and glitches.

I'm still trying to address the issue of the game not loading for a small number of people. Please be patient, it's quite hard to fix a problem when you don't know exactly what is causing it.

Inspired by Upgrade Complete, This game is a tribute to anyone who has ever sat there playing a game doing the same repeatable set of actions in order to get a arbitrary number to go up. It's a game about exploration, amnesia and collecting. Every action is will give you experience; You can gain levels in just about everything you do, from Jumping to Taking Damage to standing still and doing nothing at all. The world is sandbox, you can go anywhere you like as long as you level up enough. There is a catch though. Every night a re-occurring nightmare will rob you of everything if you can't survive it.

I have this love affair with Platformers and RPG's and this was my shot and bringing them together in an exciting taste explosion, with a little design flair of my own, some excellent editing/writing from Kayn, spiffy cut scene art from Gigas and awesome music from Triplefox. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it.

I'm desperately trying to get fixes checked in for the various problems reported. I've located the cause in the game. It's just uploading to NG that is causing me problems now as I have to wait an indeterminate amount of time between upload an update and it going live. I'll post something in nice big caps once it's all good again.

Yes, you can beat nightmare. Yes it's supposed to be really hard, that what nightmares are like. I made quite a few concessions along the way to make it easier than I had planned. I'm going to upload some Youtube videos of it being done. It's not as hard as it first may seem. Getting the Heart breaker achievement is MUCH trickier, I've yet to capture it on cam to prove it's do-able. The racing one is tricky. Max all your levels and a few well timed DASHES should get you through.

Some people might not like the ending, it was never the real heart of the game. I'm a big believer in games being about what you play rather than what you don't. Without the narrative that was created for the ending the world wouldn't be nearly as interesting as it is. In fact the game over all would be a little more dull because of it. The sequel is in the works, I'm already well into making it (get 100% completion and you can get an idea of -how- well started I am), I subscribe to running open devlogs of stuff I'm working on because it's what the players think that is important. It should be appearing Spring next year.

Development Blog for the sequel, Gather Up:
http://www.nifty-hat.blog spot.com/

The walkthrough, which is seriously a work in progress is here:
http://titch007uk.newgrou nds.com/news/post/408038
If you are having trouble with either filling the codex or getting all the giant gems, check in. Theres still a bit of work to be done. It's the first walkthrough I've written and I'm -not- a fast typist ( unless it's AS3 code ^_^)

Thanks for playing :)

Thanks everyone for all the positive reviews, rates, feedback, oh and being told my game could 'die in a fire' because the boss was so hard. You have to work hard to get that level of frustration out of someone. ^_^

Reviews


KohanXKohanX

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

Amazing

One of the most enjoyable games I have ever experienced. Very refined, and the graphics and music complement each other so well, and they're fantastic to begin with.

Despite there being thousands of platforming games out there, this is by far one of the most original games I've played, and that goes for your little 'demo,' too. Absolutely top-notch, and I cannot wait for the sequel.

Only thing I can complain about is that I got 100% complete and nearly all of the medals, but wasn't logged in, and so all of my progress was lost when I went to log in again. Sad. That, and when text is appearing, words that are supposed to be on the next line stay on the line previous until they get too long. Nothing particularly wrong with that, but it may look a teensy bit more professional if they start off on the appropriate line. If that makes any sense.

Stupendous.


People find this review helpful!

killrkyle1killrkyle1

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

wow

its really good i like the idea that when you lose to the shadow you delevel but it shouldnt be all the way back to level 1 all the dialogue is pretty funny and its a rea;;y good rpg romance...thing.


People find this review helpful!

KileroyKileroy

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

Great

Real nice, I'm waiting for the second part. It was easy tough.



DarkSleipDarkSleip

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

grat

i got 100% and got the special reward


People find this review helpful!

finalfate32finalfate32

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

to umbrella

the game is as good as it is the game plays great and the night mare part was suppose to be hard but the thing is over time u need to get new abilitys like double jump and dash and maybe a few extra hearts to have a chance against the nightmare (also regan helps ALOT) so its suppose to be challenging its not horrible


People find this review helpful!