Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 25, 2009 | 12:19 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place November 26, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place December 1, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Gem Collector 5 Points Collect 100 Gems.
Time Waster 5 Points Play to day 7 and beyond.
Gem Connoisseur 10 Points Collect All Giant Gems.
Gem Hoarder 10 Points Collect 400 Gems.
Moving the Mail 10 Points Find all the checkpoints in the level.
Dashing Course Legend 25 Points Beat the Super Dashing Course in under 25 seconds.
Fountain of Knowledge 25 Points Fill out every entry in the Codex.
Gem Addict 25 Points Collect every Red Gem on the Level.
Mad Skills 25 Points Buy every skill.
Grinding Maniac 50 Points Max out every single level type.
Heartbreaker 50 Points Defeat Nightmare with only 1 LOVE level.
Insomniac 50 Points Complete the game without ever sleeping.
Obsessive 100 Points Get 100% completion.

Author Comments

UPDATE: MEDALS ARE NOW FIXED.
- Air Recovery altered slightly. It gives a short burst of invincibility and pushes you into the air a bit so you can avoid getting it again.
- Worked a bit on the medal reloading script. If you unlocked medals before but the Newgrounds site didn't register it, try reloading the game. It's not foolproof but it should work most of the time.
- Fixed a few minor bugs and glitches.

I'm still trying to address the issue of the game not loading for a small number of people. Please be patient, it's quite hard to fix a problem when you don't know exactly what is causing it.

Inspired by Upgrade Complete, This game is a tribute to anyone who has ever sat there playing a game doing the same repeatable set of actions in order to get a arbitrary number to go up. It's a game about exploration, amnesia and collecting. Every action is will give you experience; You can gain levels in just about everything you do, from Jumping to Taking Damage to standing still and doing nothing at all. The world is sandbox, you can go anywhere you like as long as you level up enough. There is a catch though. Every night a re-occurring nightmare will rob you of everything if you can't survive it.

I have this love affair with Platformers and RPG's and this was my shot and bringing them together in an exciting taste explosion, with a little design flair of my own, some excellent editing/writing from Kayn, spiffy cut scene art from Gigas and awesome music from Triplefox. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it.

I'm desperately trying to get fixes checked in for the various problems reported. I've located the cause in the game. It's just uploading to NG that is causing me problems now as I have to wait an indeterminate amount of time between upload an update and it going live. I'll post something in nice big caps once it's all good again.

Yes, you can beat nightmare. Yes it's supposed to be really hard, that what nightmares are like. I made quite a few concessions along the way to make it easier than I had planned. I'm going to upload some Youtube videos of it being done. It's not as hard as it first may seem. Getting the Heart breaker achievement is MUCH trickier, I've yet to capture it on cam to prove it's do-able. The racing one is tricky. Max all your levels and a few well timed DASHES should get you through.

Some people might not like the ending, it was never the real heart of the game. I'm a big believer in games being about what you play rather than what you don't. Without the narrative that was created for the ending the world wouldn't be nearly as interesting as it is. In fact the game over all would be a little more dull because of it. The sequel is in the works, I'm already well into making it (get 100% completion and you can get an idea of -how- well started I am), I subscribe to running open devlogs of stuff I'm working on because it's what the players think that is important. It should be appearing Spring next year.

Development Blog for the sequel, Gather Up:
http://www.nifty-hat.blog spot.com/

The walkthrough, which is seriously a work in progress is here:
http://titch007uk.newgrou nds.com/news/post/408038
If you are having trouble with either filling the codex or getting all the giant gems, check in. Theres still a bit of work to be done. It's the first walkthrough I've written and I'm -not- a fast typist ( unless it's AS3 code ^_^)

Thanks for playing :)

Thanks everyone for all the positive reviews, rates, feedback, oh and being told my game could 'die in a fire' because the boss was so hard. You have to work hard to get that level of frustration out of someone. ^_^

Reviews


t0rchict0rchic

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

Awesome. Can't wait for the sequel.

I managed to get 100% completion in 45 minutes. Anyone saying the Nightmare is hard is an idiot. First try, it was dead. If you manage to kill the nightmare every time, it's easy to get 100%. My problem was that I missed one Squarite, so I was confused for a couple minutes. The demo for the new game is great, except that a sign in it near the end of the demo is levitating above reach.


People find this review helpful!

LetigerLetiger

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

Level up! This flash is now level 4.

Pixel games. How rare is it to see a semi-rpg type one of them. And it dosn't bug out on IE! That is a definate plus, well for me anyways. It didn't interfere with my ability to enjoy the games I like.

On to the gameplay. It is stunning. The amount of places to explore the crystals to collect, and of course the level up feature. I had fun day after day going and getting the same tons of crystals. Leveling up was a bonus.

The boss was way to hard the first day. I had to literally wait about a week in game. Collect enought crystals to buy all the skills from the sky people, 'cause I dont want to work for it, and get my sleep to level 5. Level 5 sleep is important.

Not because it lets you stay up longer, but because it lets you get all your main, that is the ones you start with, skills to 5. Then you should go get the level 5 relationship to beat the boss. He was a toughie.

It took me two long playthroughs to beat him. I mean it's just hard for me. The story is interesting after you beat him though. That is too say most of the story is after you've beaten the boss. And that's most of the game!

I actually didn't expect it to have that sort of ending. I thought it was just a random crash, but no a shock. I don't know if that's for everyone, or I'm just dumb. The ending did promise a sequel though.

Don't dissapoint us like movie based game sequels. Anyone that is a fan of the Nostalgia Critic should know this by now. Maybe there will be more things to level up in the next game. Including a fence repairing skill! Oh yea and, the Codex is self-refferential! I can only imagine what it must be like forgetting what it is day after day.


People find this review helpful!
titch007uk responds:

I'll do my best to not disappoint. Kayn (the writer) seems to think the direction I'm taking series in is going is good, and that's good enough for me. There is going to be a great deal -more- story in the sequel. I'm getting a taste for doing this narrative stuff now.

Loosing to the boss on the first day is intentional. I know it's rarer these days, but I think putting the player in a situation where they have to loose is an interesting. After all people went on and on about that one scene in MW where you can't -possibly- win. I was just looking for a slightly different dynamic in that the possibility of victory had to be there, but hard to obtain. Otherwise it's not a struggle, or a cheap trick to make plays think they have a chance (Like bosses in RPG's you can't win against).


TottTott

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

Really fun.

I've been playing this for days.Mainly so I could defeat that boss, very damn hard! All the art is great, and it looks like you worked hard with it, even putting idle animations in. It all worked perfectly, no glitches that I could find in the week I've been playing it. The gravitating gems was a nice touch too.

The dialogue was original and funny, the levels were great looking, and fun to run around in. The only thing would be to make the daytime bits a bit harder, so they can keep with the night, (which was just about right as far as I'm concerned.)

Am I aloud the review the secret bit?

(Please make the jumping like it was in the main game. It was too sluggish in it's current state.)


People find this review helpful!

revelationwarerevelationware

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

LEVEL UP!!!

The nightmare WAS Hard. HEY! how about setting difficultylevels n stuff?


People find this review helpful!
titch007uk responds:

Nah, Difficulty settings are a cop out. There are better ways of balancing the game.


95jas95jas

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2009

OMG!!

wow! this game is sooo much fun!!! even tho i havent goten very far... cuz i cant beat my shadow.... i still love the whole consept of this game!!! and i cant w8 4 your next game!


People find this review helpful!