Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 22, 2009 | 12:25 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 23, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place November 24, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

New Friend 5 Points Complete level 1
Trust Exercise 5 Points Complete level 4
Bridge 10 Points Complete level 10
Vicarious? 10 Points Complete level 7
Sacrifice Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Hey everyone, here's a game for you. It's a moody little puzzle game about a hermit that expands on the mechanic seen in games like Cursor*10 and Chronotron.

Bonus points go to Luka Marcetic, who handled the art, and David Carney, who wrote the music.

Don't forget: If you mess up, push R to reset the level. P or Escape to pause-Volume controls are in pause menu.

Reviews


superyamssuperyams

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

I loved it

It was great but i was missing one more thing, a ending cutscene. Like maybe he opens the door and out of nowhere a finds katherine and the screen turns black saying, My second passion is here, no more days of being hermit. Thank you



BananafakeBananafake

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 1, 2009

The story.

The game mechanics were okay, and worked. The puzzles were interesting, but most of them were fairly easy. It's a very functional game.

My main gripe is with the actual story. Throughout the game you get vague hints of the actual background of the man that you're playing, you build up an idea of him as a loner who lost someone that he loved. The irritating part though was putting a bunch of text describing to you what you know, except adding a MAJOR TWIST that, gasp, he is actually insane and murdered his girlfriend.

It seemed like you had a decent story going but that just kind of ruined, it was like you were just trying to find a way to not only tie in everything together but tack on a tragedy just for its own sake.

I think it would've been better had you just left it up to the player's imagination to figure out exactly what kind of person Jack is and to possibly to make them look at their own situations in comparison.

If Jack loved his girlfriend (or wife?) why murder her? Surely not just because hes a lonely misanthrope. Is his debilitating mental illness so severe and yet so unrecognizable that no one could see a problem with him?

What kind of insanity gives someone that type of repetitive amnesia?

Why can he perfectly recollect such a traumatizing event like the murder of another person but can't recall the piss he took an hour ago?

Why is there a large slow moving block of text? Instead when it reaches the end just make it fade to black next time rather than continue to crawl slowly.

I will give you points though for not going to obvious route like I thought you would do. I had high hopes for a dark story and when I started the level with Kathryn. I assume you'd do something like "oh look they found one another and they're happy and together!" I'm incredibly grateful you didn't do that.

Obviously the game itself represented Jack's life, beginning in loneliness, happiness, then followed by more loneliness, his own internal struggle represented by the increasing difficulty in levels. This also makes me kind of said because it gave a lot of potential for many interesting backgrounds or themes for the levels. Perhaps a womb, a playground, an office building, etc?

No offense, but the story just seems like a short story someone would turn in for a college paper and call it 'dark and disturbing.' It WAS an okay story, I just think it could've been great if you altered the gameplay around a little more to compliment it and added less loose ends. In the future don't even bother with a scrolling text wall at the end, try to make the story speak for itself.



sucknorrissucknorris

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 23, 2009

nice

i like it how people start to shake when they play a game that features somekinds of emptions. "oh, so touching!" hey guys, it's just a game, not a piece of art, goddammit! if you think different, then you are truly lost.

but hey, nice little time waster.



StevenTheOddheadStevenTheOddhead

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 31, 2010

Pretty good game

But I didn't understand the T-formed level...



OpelSpeedsterOpelSpeedster

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2012

The levels are too hard. But other than that is just fine. Good job!