Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 29, 2009 | 11:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place October 31, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Halloween 2009
    Halloween 2009 The collection of Halloween-themed submissions from 2009!

Author Comments

Lychgate is the old english term for the entrance to a church graveyard.

This is an animation for NG Halloween 2009. I was planning to do something for this flash-off for a while and only started 5 weeks ago. I love horror and strange movies so I thought I'd make a bloody weird animation this year.

This is open to interpretation, or you can just think of it as some weird bloody movie, but I think you can tell that all of the characters are dead. Nonetheless creepers, blood and gore are what I love about Halloween so I dug into my brain, pulled this storyboard out and that's what was going in.

5 weeks of labor made this and I'm satisfied with the result for what it is. I enjoyed making it and hope you enjoy watching it.

Thank you to Heroin Slug, an excellent musical artist who provided excellent soundtracks for me. If you're interested in his work leave me a private mesaage or comment about it below.
Congratulations and thanks to Ixintro as well.
Also thank you to Slanted2, a friend of mine who's been animating with me since the start.
Another thank you to Mrs.Tetor and Mrs.Baldauff from my high school for making it possible to do my last 2 movies in school. I owe them 3 trophies and a giant check from the PA computer fair.

Happy Halloween, Newgrounds.com, I really hope you guys enjoy this.

EDIT: I'm glad people are liking this. It's doing well compared to my expectations. It peaked at a 4.01 (edit: 4.14) and just got 5th place for the day. Yay my first NG trophy! Thanks!

EDIT 2: Thank you for front page, Newgrounds staff. That's another big first for me that has happened with this movie. I'm glad people are enjoying it and I thank the people kind enough to drop a review.

EDIT 3: Broke 10,000 views: A milestone for me. Thanks again for front page.
I'd like to ask the reviewers to be specific with problems they find in the movie. If you don't understand the plot, tell me where you got lost. If you elaborate you become more helpful and will actually help me improve. Thank you to the commenters and the helpful reviewers.

Reviews


ForionMastaForionMasta

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 8, 2009

Bloodily Creepy...

Well, you've managed to creep me out, which is getting increasingly hard, and you seem to have an animation style all your own. Mind you the black and red thing isn't new that is. Bravo to you my friend, being able to do something hardly no one else has.


MarcK responds:

haha thanks.


ElmagomejorElmagomejor

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 3, 2009

LOL

That was very strange dude what were you trying to tell us.


MarcK responds:

I wasn't really trying to convey a message. i was more trying to creep people out or provoke thought. I like abstract things and halloween is a good time to be creepy about it.
thanks for the 10! :D


ShadowSpikeShadowSpike

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 5, 2009

Hmm?

Well i have two things id like to ask what was those black holes in the ground? and what was that zombie thing at the end? other than that its short scary and gory a perfect halloween movie that leaves you with some questions


MarcK responds:

Well yeah, some plots can be challenging to viewers. I think that's a plus. I mean abstract ideas like holes coming out of the ground will need viewer input to fill in the gaps. It could be the ground eating strong flesh laying on the ground to grow plants, it also could be hell opening up or something.
The zombie thing at the end was a being attached through strings that could detach its limbs upon will. I thought that was clear.

Anyway thanks for the review and the 10. :]


RadeshtkaRadeshtka

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 14, 2011

sweet!

Let's see if I follow you, conceptually...

Entrance to death = Alice in Wonderland
The characters = The Wizard of Oz

yes?


MarcK responds:

what?


FalkenlazerFalkenlazer

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 20, 2010

Interesting

This has a not only a horror concept, but a very mysterious side to it as well, an intriguing mixture....I just didn't understand the plot.


MarcK responds:

thanks