Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 28, 2009 | 2:09 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 29, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place November 4, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The fantastic geological formations that litter the surface of the desert planet Ouroboros are not its only natural wonder. Many diverse life forms dwell amongst the towering hoodoos, sweeping arches, and massive cliffs. Unbeknownst to each individual creature, his or her existence is only a small part of a perpetual and interconnected cycle. Geometric impossibilities and anomalous laws of physics present themselves at the most unexpected moments. Great multitudes wage brutal battles over frivolous differences. Motile beings transform into sessile plants, death gives way to life and the cycle begins again.

Sorry I haven't posted in so long. I started this in February but animated 80% of it over the past month. I hope you enjoy it and thanks for watching!

-Chris

Edit: Thanks everyone for the daily feature and the great reviews!

(2009) Christian Madsen/ Villainous Turtle Cinema

Reviews


CMiller1334CMiller1334

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2009

You know you're good when...

the orange guy ate the bug, I thought it was going to end there, still implying the repeating cycle. When I thought it was going to end, I got really sad. Haha. I think that speaks for itself. Great job, the multiplication sequences made me think of M. C. Esher, which is never a bad thing. 5/5; 10/10. I look forward to more great work from you, my friend.


People find this review helpful!

WeerdThingWeerdThing

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 17, 2009

Very cool.

I like the flash. The art was simple in some places and detailed in others, but it gave it that quirky feel that fits the whole flash. I love the music too, it's a nice touch and gives off that what we're seeing here is a natural cycle of life on this strange planet, and not some extraordinary event, which I think is the point :P
I would have liked if there was a bit more varied creatures, personally. Also, the transformation of the orange/blue corpses into a giant moth and a giant praying mantis was a little too sudden IMO, it would have been pretty cool if it had been a bit more gradual.
Ah, what the heck, I enjoyed it anyway.

P.S. to Nobody789: When he says that, it could be that he is saying "scum of the earth (soil)" as opposed to "scum of the Earth (planet)". Continuity error solved.

5/5 for you my good sir!
~W££rd



MikakouMikakou

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 16, 2009

Sweet!

I loved it! Its one of those weird ones, but unlike the other artists who make weird stuff, like kol-belov, this didnt freak the shit outa me! :D



Nobody789Nobody789

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 13, 2009

continuity error

Really liked the movie but the blue guy calls the oranges the "scum of the EARTH"

this didnt change my vite but if you're going to have it set on the planet Ouroboros which is very good and creative name you should make sure your dialogue stays consistant with that

other than that though it was very well animated, clever and very intersing

8/10 stars


VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

You aren't the first to point that out. But I think you are getting too picky. They speak English, which is completely implausible. Lets just imagine they are descended from American Earthlings somehow and the idiom, "Scum of the Earth" was brought to the planet Ouroboros along with the English language.


BlackartxBlackartx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 13, 2009

weird movie but sick

weird movie but sick