Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 28, 2009 | 2:09 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 29, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place November 4, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The fantastic geological formations that litter the surface of the desert planet Ouroboros are not its only natural wonder. Many diverse life forms dwell amongst the towering hoodoos, sweeping arches, and massive cliffs. Unbeknownst to each individual creature, his or her existence is only a small part of a perpetual and interconnected cycle. Geometric impossibilities and anomalous laws of physics present themselves at the most unexpected moments. Great multitudes wage brutal battles over frivolous differences. Motile beings transform into sessile plants, death gives way to life and the cycle begins again.

Sorry I haven't posted in so long. I started this in February but animated 80% of it over the past month. I hope you enjoy it and thanks for watching!

-Chris

Edit: Thanks everyone for the daily feature and the great reviews!

(2009) Christian Madsen/ Villainous Turtle Cinema

Reviews


Jonnaa11Jonnaa11

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 4, 2010

Nice

Nice Work, Its Clever and got good artwork and animation give yourself a well deserved pat on the back! Keep it Up!


People find this review helpful!

ZalanaarZalanaar

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2010

Amazing

Amazing idea, and brilliant artwork. How do you come up with this stuff? xD


People find this review helpful!
VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

Thanks man! The way I come up with this stuff is to spend a lot of time alone listening to the heaviest metal I can find. It inspires me!


ZhacquesZhacques

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 5, 2010

Oh my goodness.

How wildly entertaining. When the people first started replicating, I thought, well thats neat. Then The Orange was a factor and the "population" doubled, and I though, Right-fuckin'-on! When they immediately started fighting I laughed a bit, and I hardly ever laugh at anything on NG...it's usually very immature humor all over the site... ANYHOW, from there it just got better and better. I was entertained throughout. Well done, sir. eight stars out of ten because, obviously, the art isn't...you know, mind blowingly good or anything. Awesome nonetheless!


People find this review helpful!
VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

Thanks, glad you liked it! I've been wanting to do an animation with more detailed art, but it takes me long enough as it is even with the rough simple drawings I do. On my next animation, my goal is to have shaded characters and painted backgrounds, so we'll see how that turns out.


h3xxh3xx

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 19, 2010

Nicely done.

I see a lot of inspiration from the movie "Le Planete Sauvage" (The Fantastic Planet). Is this imagined?


VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

I've never seen or heard of that movie but I'd like to.


CoractiCoracti

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 18, 2010

Conceptually unique

It's great to see such a talented artist like you finally get some recognition with this flash. Not that I've followed you before. The quality of your previous work was a big surprise for me, and I'm glad I checked it out after seeing Hoodoos.

As for the movie itself, all of the good points have already been listed by other reviewers, so let me just say how much I enjoyed the concept and the unique execution. Very good flow and appropriate animation. Overall, a compelling presentation of a story told from an observer's viewpoint. It wasn't abundant with colors, but the style made up for that.

It's weird, though, that you chose such neutral music for it, which seemed almost like what you'd hear them play in an elevator. Sure, it went together well with the concept, sending a message that all is just part of the cycle and ultimately leads to the same predictable outcome. From that perspective, it was the right pick on your part.

However, what makes this movie look so well stylistically also accounts for its biggest cinematic flaw. The flow is not once broken, even in "action" scenes, which negates the surprise element that you bothered to include twice in your movie, so it just doesn't come as one. Hoodoos ends up being a satirical look on life for some open-minded viewers, but just plain confusing or, at best, surreal, for those looking for a quick ride on entertainment train, and that's the audience you have here on Newgrounds.

If you'd like to succeed even more while maintaining the unique feel of your movies, compromise a bit by not stripping the action-filled scenes of their impact, showcase actual combat, include more varied camera angles (as often as possible), make the pace fluctuate slightly and don't be so afraid of letting a cliche or two creep into your work.

I'm in no way proposing for you to make a generic frame-by-frame animesque low-fps forced-expression-filled over-the-top-voice-acting-ridden cheap-humor fake-action short with retardedly contrasting shading, more than 9000 mainstream references and boobies. I think I'd die a little inside if you did. Just want to see more of your work all over frontpage and top charts, 'cause that's where it deserves to be.

But hell, if you'd just keep it up the same way you do, you can still count on me as your loyal follower from now on, making this 10 only the first of many!

Best of luck in your future projects, and I hope you don't fall into another ten months of hiding after this!


Lots of people find this review helpful!
VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

What a thoughtful and great review. Thanks!!