Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 21, 2009 | 8:50 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 27, 2009
  • Daily Feature October 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps 5 Points Make Gretel walk for the first time.
Slingshot Breakfast 5 Points Obtain the slingshot
Bitch Slap 10 Points Shoot mom in the face
Honey Horror 10 Points Get Bee Death
Sucked Dry 10 Points Get Spider Death
Time is Running Out 10 Points Get the clock
Electra Complex 25 Points Get Dad Carriage Death
Gretel Unit 25 Points Take 200 shots with the slingshot
Here is Mommy! 25 Points Get Axe Death
Kain 25 Points Kill Hansel
Kiss That Cyuke 25 Points Get Rabbit Death
Pecking Order 25 Points Get Crow Death
Pest Removal 25 Points Trap the squirrel
The Flamer 25 Points Get Fire Death
Clockspert 50 Points Solve clock puzzle
Get Stoned 50 Points Get all 10 stones
Pop, Rock and Drop It 50 Points Drop all ten stones
Grimm Master 100 Points Get all 10 deaths

Author Comments

GRETEL PART 2 IS OUT!! GO PLAY IT!!!

Added saving into the game, the game now auto saves so you can come back later and finish your game!

To get the Grimm Master medal you have to get all 10 deaths in ONE playthrough. You must then wait till the END of the credits.

800,000+ views!!

Thanks everyone for the many kind reviews! We're hard at work on part 2...

After a long time in development, the adventure begins. This was a labor of love. Hand painted backgrounds and characters all scanned and worked up with Flash. Everything should be working alright, but if you notice any major issues please let us know and we will fix them right away. Thank you Tom for the sponsorship! It lets us keep making games like this. Special thanks also to Mike Rudolph for making such excellent music. This is part one of a three part game so stay tuned for more Gretel and Hansel!

For some reasons the walkthroughs below are showing up with an extra space in them, when you copy and paste them into your browser just remove the spaces.

Walkthrough here (remove the space after hanse):

http://www.gretelandhanse l.com/walkthrough.html

Video Walkthrough (remove space after .com/wa):

http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=UouWyOhW7kk

Reviews


iluckyseveniiluckyseveni

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 22, 2013

Great game! I love this dark version of Gretel and Hansel. Excellent plot! Death scenes are fantastic! Only bug I had was the non stop running. I give this a 4/5. Games like this make newgrounds unique and my favorite site!



Gigabyte09Gigabyte09

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

nice

i liked this game tho i think visually it was too bright and it was too hard to see the paths. the walkthru also doesnt work :S and i was a lil dissapointed to find it didnt save progress.



ArchMetaKnightArchMetaKnight

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

Nice

But these kind of games really bore me. Nice sets of medals.



MorbidIronyMorbidIrony

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 22, 2013

This is a great game! I like the feel the painting gives to the games atmosphere. Nice puzzles and Easter egg. The game was really short though. It felt like it ended a lot quicker then it took for the story to begin. Still a wonderful game. Thank you.
Bugs: For me this flash game seems to be buggy. I have the latest flash player and I am playing on a laptop. When I am walking and I change direction 60% Gretel will start continuously walking in the last direction I was going in. The bug only seems to stop when I tap all directions rapidly. The last bug I encountered was at the end of the game. Once I click replay it takes me back to the title screen as expected. But Continue and New game don't show. Only play shows and when I click on it, start the game from the begging, and leave Gretel and Hansel's room, the coins to get are already there. For example, the two coins you collect from the squirrel are already laying on the ground with the squirrel in the cage. Also, the bee hive is broken on the ground with the coin but no bees.



OniBushiOniBushi

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 8, 2010

Little buggy

The idea and the concept are great. The only reason why it's not getting a ten is because it has a few bugs. After you finish the game and click replay the items in the game don't reset themselves ex. cage is already down, hive is already broken and so on. Also noticed that after a little while you don't really have to collect all the ten stones they just pup into your inventory but the biggest problem I had was that the second clock arm didn't aper automatically on the clock only after I left and reentered the room, so if you don't know what you are looking for you will just assume that it's an error and it won't appear on the clock thus making you think the puzzle can't be solved.


People find this review helpful!