Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 21, 2009 | 8:50 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 27, 2009
  • Daily Feature October 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps 5 Points Make Gretel walk for the first time.
Slingshot Breakfast 5 Points Obtain the slingshot
Bitch Slap 10 Points Shoot mom in the face
Honey Horror 10 Points Get Bee Death
Sucked Dry 10 Points Get Spider Death
Time is Running Out 10 Points Get the clock
Electra Complex 25 Points Get Dad Carriage Death
Gretel Unit 25 Points Take 200 shots with the slingshot
Here is Mommy! 25 Points Get Axe Death
Kain 25 Points Kill Hansel
Kiss That Cyuke 25 Points Get Rabbit Death
Pecking Order 25 Points Get Crow Death
Pest Removal 25 Points Trap the squirrel
The Flamer 25 Points Get Fire Death
Clockspert 50 Points Solve clock puzzle
Get Stoned 50 Points Get all 10 stones
Pop, Rock and Drop It 50 Points Drop all ten stones
Grimm Master 100 Points Get all 10 deaths

Author Comments

GRETEL PART 2 IS OUT!! GO PLAY IT!!!

Added saving into the game, the game now auto saves so you can come back later and finish your game!

To get the Grimm Master medal you have to get all 10 deaths in ONE playthrough. You must then wait till the END of the credits.

800,000+ views!!

Thanks everyone for the many kind reviews! We're hard at work on part 2...

After a long time in development, the adventure begins. This was a labor of love. Hand painted backgrounds and characters all scanned and worked up with Flash. Everything should be working alright, but if you notice any major issues please let us know and we will fix them right away. Thank you Tom for the sponsorship! It lets us keep making games like this. Special thanks also to Mike Rudolph for making such excellent music. This is part one of a three part game so stay tuned for more Gretel and Hansel!

For some reasons the walkthroughs below are showing up with an extra space in them, when you copy and paste them into your browser just remove the spaces.

Walkthrough here (remove the space after hanse):

http://www.gretelandhanse l.com/walkthrough.html

Video Walkthrough (remove space after .com/wa):

http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=UouWyOhW7kk

Reviews


TrickyHunterXTrickyHunterX

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

omg cool

omg hansels stupid when u get killed by the mom he just ducks and smiles glitch when u let the crow take hansel and drops him when the skull comes hit the father making sure he falls when u recover the fathers not pulling the mom and hansels bak and then a nother skull comes back



vader316vader316

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

Great point and click game

I love the art work and the music was not bad for this game. I love killing hansel and the way she looks after killing him was awesome. The spider death was great too. Despite some of the bugs I ran into this game is very fun to play. To all this haters out there: If you think it boring or bad why don't you make a game that better or give some advice to make it better. (like xXCrowXx) I can't wait till part 2!



De-LineDe-Line

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

seriously awesome.

i love point and click adventures, and this one gets a real deep, hard, wet, tip of my hat. loved it.

i got all ten deaths but it didnt give me the medal? im not too concerned, just letting you know incase its some kind of glitch. amazing game though, really.


People find this review helpful!

dragons55dragons55

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

ok....

ok 2bugs you could say.
1. i found when replaying and playing the game again (mostly to get the rest of the medals, when you try to crawl out of the house gretal crawls in the middle of the room instead of through the hole.
2.first go i managed to get the squirrel rock without actually capturing the squirrel, just was at the right time to get it when it drops it off at a corner (don't know if that was intentional or not)



xXCrowXxxXCrowXx

Rated 2 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

Ugh.. everything bad for a game of this genre

Nonintuitive actions are supposed to be filler in a point and click game, not the focus. The hallmark of a good puzzle in this genre is when, once you see the answer, you feel dumb for not realizing it earlier. The player is supposed to have all the data he needs to deduce the solution to the game easily available, so that completing the game is a matter of logic.

How does this game work? As an example from the beginning of the game, once you get the slingshot, if you are observent you should realize it's time to wake up Hansel. But no, hitting Hansel with the slingshot would make too much sense. You need to hit the window to let in a fly which you cannot see until you have already let it in. And not any spot on the window, it has to be the bottom right pane; the invisible fly just doesn't like the other panes. Once the player randomly happens to do the correct action (or looks it up in the walkthrough), the player is left wondering not why he didn't think to do it, but instead why he was supposed to know to do it at all.

Interacting with things either kills you or not, and in general the results do not correspond to what you would expect to happen when you interact with it. Objects which you must find are not visible and must be run into by chance. Interactable objects do not in general stand out from the background. A bug - the slingshot often is still active as you try to use your inventory.

The artwork definitely has its own style, and while I don't like the style myself it's very good at being what it is. The artwork is singlehandedly responsible for the 4 points out of 10 I'm giving this.

The music was annoying, which I suppose is appropriate.

It's clear that a lot of effort went into making this, which puts it above about 80% or more of the stuff on NG. But when the core game isn't well designed, no amount of style will gloss it over in my opinion.

If other people like it, more power to them. It's certainly not my job to say what they're supposed to like. But as a big fan of the genre in general, I am left feeling the game itself could be a lot better by doing the opposite of what it does at every step of the way.


There's some debate, but overall people find this review helpful