Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 21, 2009 | 8:50 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 27, 2009
  • Daily Feature October 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps 5 Points Make Gretel walk for the first time.
Slingshot Breakfast 5 Points Obtain the slingshot
Bitch Slap 10 Points Shoot mom in the face
Honey Horror 10 Points Get Bee Death
Sucked Dry 10 Points Get Spider Death
Time is Running Out 10 Points Get the clock
Electra Complex 25 Points Get Dad Carriage Death
Gretel Unit 25 Points Take 200 shots with the slingshot
Here is Mommy! 25 Points Get Axe Death
Kain 25 Points Kill Hansel
Kiss That Cyuke 25 Points Get Rabbit Death
Pecking Order 25 Points Get Crow Death
Pest Removal 25 Points Trap the squirrel
The Flamer 25 Points Get Fire Death
Clockspert 50 Points Solve clock puzzle
Get Stoned 50 Points Get all 10 stones
Pop, Rock and Drop It 50 Points Drop all ten stones
Grimm Master 100 Points Get all 10 deaths

Author Comments

GRETEL PART 2 IS OUT!! GO PLAY IT!!!

Added saving into the game, the game now auto saves so you can come back later and finish your game!

To get the Grimm Master medal you have to get all 10 deaths in ONE playthrough. You must then wait till the END of the credits.

800,000+ views!!

Thanks everyone for the many kind reviews! We're hard at work on part 2...

After a long time in development, the adventure begins. This was a labor of love. Hand painted backgrounds and characters all scanned and worked up with Flash. Everything should be working alright, but if you notice any major issues please let us know and we will fix them right away. Thank you Tom for the sponsorship! It lets us keep making games like this. Special thanks also to Mike Rudolph for making such excellent music. This is part one of a three part game so stay tuned for more Gretel and Hansel!

For some reasons the walkthroughs below are showing up with an extra space in them, when you copy and paste them into your browser just remove the spaces.

Walkthrough here (remove the space after hanse):

http://www.gretelandhanse l.com/walkthrough.html

Video Walkthrough (remove space after .com/wa):

http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=UouWyOhW7kk

Reviews


jsingletonjsingleton

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

Great Game, Looking Forward to v2!

Awesome game. Love the twisted graphics and post WWII feel to the game. It's like playing a game inside of a Fancis Bacon painting or something. The art is simply the great, quirky, detail-oriented art you don't see in many (if any) games these days.

If I had to earmark any areas for improvement, I'd say that the overall usability of the game needs a tweak. For example, the characters walk cycles are kind of elaborate and it takes a LONG time to move around on the screen. And then there's little things, like it's unclear how to equip certain items... But overall, other than this little picky stuff this is an amazing game and the kind of game I could see a major publisher picking up, just based on the sheer originality of it. Whoever made this is one twisted little puppy!


People find this review helpful!

Elec26Elec26

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

Awesome!

I loved the retarded Hansel (though I couldn't help killing him), and the macabre atmosphere. I also loved being able to shoot my sadistic mother in the face. The only problems I had was that glitch that makes you unable to use your slingshot for a few seconds. If you fixed that bug, it would be perfect (or as close to perfection as one could achieive.


People find this review helpful!

FlipBoi64FlipBoi64

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

This Game is utterly amazing

This is probably THE best point 'n click game I've played.
They way you put so much detail in your artwork, and all of the deaths (lol by the way), and you're animations, man, it's all so mindblowing.



xolticexoltice

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

The game that only comes once in a while

The interactivity, the level of difficulty was just right, the art fit the fairytale theme nicely. Unlocking the deaths was a real treat =D.



rikuantiformrikuantiform

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2009

cool

its very cool but how do u get axe death rabbit death and the pop it drop it