Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 21, 2009 | 8:50 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 27, 2009
  • Daily Feature October 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps 5 Points Make Gretel walk for the first time.
Slingshot Breakfast 5 Points Obtain the slingshot
Bitch Slap 10 Points Shoot mom in the face
Honey Horror 10 Points Get Bee Death
Sucked Dry 10 Points Get Spider Death
Time is Running Out 10 Points Get the clock
Electra Complex 25 Points Get Dad Carriage Death
Gretel Unit 25 Points Take 200 shots with the slingshot
Here is Mommy! 25 Points Get Axe Death
Kain 25 Points Kill Hansel
Kiss That Cyuke 25 Points Get Rabbit Death
Pecking Order 25 Points Get Crow Death
Pest Removal 25 Points Trap the squirrel
The Flamer 25 Points Get Fire Death
Clockspert 50 Points Solve clock puzzle
Get Stoned 50 Points Get all 10 stones
Pop, Rock and Drop It 50 Points Drop all ten stones
Grimm Master 100 Points Get all 10 deaths

Author Comments

GRETEL PART 2 IS OUT!! GO PLAY IT!!!

Added saving into the game, the game now auto saves so you can come back later and finish your game!

To get the Grimm Master medal you have to get all 10 deaths in ONE playthrough. You must then wait till the END of the credits.

800,000+ views!!

Thanks everyone for the many kind reviews! We're hard at work on part 2...

After a long time in development, the adventure begins. This was a labor of love. Hand painted backgrounds and characters all scanned and worked up with Flash. Everything should be working alright, but if you notice any major issues please let us know and we will fix them right away. Thank you Tom for the sponsorship! It lets us keep making games like this. Special thanks also to Mike Rudolph for making such excellent music. This is part one of a three part game so stay tuned for more Gretel and Hansel!

For some reasons the walkthroughs below are showing up with an extra space in them, when you copy and paste them into your browser just remove the spaces.

Walkthrough here (remove the space after hanse):

http://www.gretelandhanse l.com/walkthrough.html

Video Walkthrough (remove space after .com/wa):

http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=UouWyOhW7kk

Reviews


IggyRIggyR

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 25, 2009

Sweet.

Got all the medals, played the entire game, and I still recognised the original story. It's really a good game. One of my favorite parts was trying to figure out all of the deaths... Heh heh heh...



Half-BreedHalf-Breed

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 25, 2009

Yes, yes, this is a playable work of art!

This game really drew me in. I've played it for over an hour, and wasn't going to stop until I finished it all on my own (I don't use hints). Finally solved it, yay me! I really like the look (and the feel it gives you) of this game. Even without the characters speaking, you can "feel" what's going on.
Bravo!



NorwegianGuyNorwegianGuy

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 24, 2009

11/10

I would give this game 11 out of 10 - if possible!

This game is just so incredibly well made; beautifull original artwork, stunning visuals, great amount of details and eerie - yet awesome - music. The high level of interactivity is also impressive!

The way the story is told is also briliantly conducted - everybody knows the story of Hansel and Gretel, so why not tell it in an original way? If peple have misunderstood this it must be because they don´t know the story - but that would make the game loose a lot of it´s charm anyway.

All theese things combined sets the mood for the story and game in a masterfull way! It´s a long time since I´ve enjoed a flash game as much as this.

So I´ll give it 10/10 ;-)


People find this review helpful!

tyler2513tyler2513

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 22, 2009

Pretty cool

I can't get into the game that much the artwork and idea was great
the setting was all the better. But I can't quite focus on exactly
what it's all about? I mean it's cool and all the gameplay is awesome
but I don't know the exact plot your aiming for. But cool game
anyways.


People find this review helpful!

ScribledudeScribledude

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2009

Beautiful

Great game and the artwork is absolutely beautiful. Who would have thought that a flash game could look so good outside of it's usual art media. The only reason I give it a 9/10 is that it's controls are a little glitchy and the slingshot stalls at the most inconvenient times.


People find this review helpful!