Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2009 | 6:22 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 10, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 14, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

[UPDATE] Thanks for front page and Daily 1st again, people! It's good to know that people are still enjoying the series despite the delays.
Also, a special thank you to all those that have sent me donations. It's really helping me out. =)

[EDIT] Okay, with any luck all of the problems have been fixed now. Many of you may need to clear your browser cache in order to see the update. Chances are there are still some bugs I've missed, so if you find any, send me a PM.

Thanks ever so much to Tom Fulp for raising the upload limit for me. ^^
Wow. One year already, huh? Time sure flies when you're not having fun.
At least I didn't keep you guys waiting for 16 months this time. lulz!
Anywho, this episode has been the bane of my existence for the past few months. Trying to build up the motivation to work on it after all the stuff I've been through recently.
I experimented a lot with this episode. Mostly with Swift 3D for the Doomship and the hand drawn close ups. I did start using high res sprites for the close ups early on, but I later opted for vector drawings because they're clearer and quicker to make.
Back to the 3D stuff though, I am aware that the Doomship looks kinda primitive, but personally I kinda like it. It reminds me of the old Starfox game on the SNES. Plus I didn't like the idea of fully rendering it which would have made the file size skyrocket.
Anyways, I've kept you waiting long enough. Thanks to all those who have been patient and enjoy the latest episode of Super Mario bros Z!

Reviews


ThaGamerTJxThaGamerTJx

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2013

Just wanted to say thanks for making the series.
I'm sure you had your qualms about this episode, but I certainly enjoyed it. =)
Your animation (the action scenes, in particular) were a major inspiration to me and why I decided to try a hand at animating.
I wish you the best with whatever you future projects may be. =D



JSDarkness29327JSDarkness29327

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2013

Even if it remains unfinished what there is is still epic. Im glad that there was still some of this released for us to see.



ExcaliburScourgeExcaliburScourge

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 21, 2013

1st fav: ep.4
2nd: ep. 7
3rd: this one



KoopaConorKoopaConor

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2013

And so ends the tragic of a brilliant sprite animator who outdid himself and became too pressured for the show to continue. While we may never see this show continue, that does not mean we cannot enjoy the episodes that are left.
And by the way, those of you who believe that we can still beg and plead until he caves in and does more fantastic work, hang on. He KNOWS this show is brilliant. He wants it to be finished, and has never stopped wanting that. But the reality is, he's no longer interested in the work involved in it. His passion died out either because he felt he could not think of how to continue the story (let's be honest. There's about a bajillion characters and story lines; I'd be surprised if it were even possible to wrap this thing up), he had some thing(s) happen in his life that caused him to no longer care about animation, or the intense demand became too much for him to even enjoy working on it. I think it's a combination of the three, but mainly the latter. This series is pure gold, everybody knows it. It's so well made and the storyline, mixed with the fights, hooked us like no other NG show can. That's why it's so sad to think that it won't continue, and that's why fans cling to whatever faint shred of hope they can find that it will continue. What nobody realised is that the more we searched for a way to revive SMBZ, the less chance it had.
I know about all this because I have experienced this same kind of ordeal on a much smaller scale. I have a story on fanfiction (it's not a plug if I don't tell you the title, right?) that everybody who read it really liked. It had a lot of characters, atmosphere, and story arcs and I planned it to be my big story, or "magnum opus" if you will. I went back and forth on it for a year or two, sometimes uploading two chapters in the space of a week and sometimes doing absolutely nothing for over two months. Finally, I decided that I just didn't like my own work enough to continue like I so longed to do. Everyone wanted to see it continue, I know, but I just didn't have it in me to finish it. Even now, I have my hopes that I'm wrong when I say it'll never be completed, but that's a slim chance.
Perhaps I could work quickly on it and get it out of the way just so I could stop hearing about it, but that's a trap I really don't want to fall into. Think about it. A lot of you, in your desperation for "SMBZ closure", have searched up and watched fan-made sequels/story wrap-ups/etc. Most of them suck, don't they? I'm not saying they're all bad, but none of it is as good as the original. But this is what the whole bible-long comment of mine is leading towards: if Alvin were to be pressurized enough to finally break and dedicate himself to finishing the story once and for all, no matter how little passion he has left for his work, then the finished product would be no better than the fan-made sequels. It pains me as a SMBZ fan to say this, but forced passion is no help at all. It's like trying to work through major writer's block, or trying to write a rhyme in a song though you can't for the life of you find a way to rhyme something with door hinge (here's a hint: look under 'O') If we get this show up and running again like we'd all love to, it'd basically be a zombie, a reanimated corpse that should've stayed dead but nobody wanted to deal with the grief.
I dearly wish I could say something other than the cold, hard truth, but we really should've laid Super Mario Bros. Z to rest a long time ago.


People find this review helpful!

Marvin-MakerMarvin-Maker

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 13, 2013

Good animation....
You know all of the movies you have made is I already watched..and so on I'm just waiting for the ep 9 but one day I visited you're news.I was dissapointed about it.Look at youtube there are now many stuffs continuing you're animation but not like the animation you have made you said you're quiting but I have found you're ep 9 scene 1 the on I search for more but I just seen many smbz movies.I don't like the animation they have make.I like the animation you make so pls dont give up yet were here to support you....But I didn't know how -_-.....