Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2009 | 6:22 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 10, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 14, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

[UPDATE] Thanks for front page and Daily 1st again, people! It's good to know that people are still enjoying the series despite the delays.
Also, a special thank you to all those that have sent me donations. It's really helping me out. =)

[EDIT] Okay, with any luck all of the problems have been fixed now. Many of you may need to clear your browser cache in order to see the update. Chances are there are still some bugs I've missed, so if you find any, send me a PM.

Thanks ever so much to Tom Fulp for raising the upload limit for me. ^^
Wow. One year already, huh? Time sure flies when you're not having fun.
At least I didn't keep you guys waiting for 16 months this time. lulz!
Anywho, this episode has been the bane of my existence for the past few months. Trying to build up the motivation to work on it after all the stuff I've been through recently.
I experimented a lot with this episode. Mostly with Swift 3D for the Doomship and the hand drawn close ups. I did start using high res sprites for the close ups early on, but I later opted for vector drawings because they're clearer and quicker to make.
Back to the 3D stuff though, I am aware that the Doomship looks kinda primitive, but personally I kinda like it. It reminds me of the old Starfox game on the SNES. Plus I didn't like the idea of fully rendering it which would have made the file size skyrocket.
Anyways, I've kept you waiting long enough. Thanks to all those who have been patient and enjoy the latest episode of Super Mario bros Z!

Reviews


HanzouFreakHanzouFreak

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 9, 2009

Amazing, but the experiences were not that good...

Well, i tought the 3D thing and the drawings were kinda off place, since SMBZ were just pixels... The 3D is not that bad, but i REALLY didn't liked the drawings. Besides that, the episode is AMAZING! Incredible fights, good humor, good history and the explosions of Metal Slug and sounds of Street Fighter(I think...) were like, LOL!

Keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!

Ultimaexe24Ultimaexe24

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 9, 2009

I know it's late but holy hell what a episode

I still love the way you use swift3D with the Doomship and all the custom sprites no wonder it took you this long to release it can't wait for the next one



JakadasnakeJakadasnake

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 9, 2009

Simply amazing.

I probably always title my reviews for this series similarly. Somehow, they never cease to impress.
The doomship is very Starfox 64 reminiscent, so it goes right along with all the nostalgia of this series. You're basically bringing back a whole lot of characters that we loved as kids and perpetuating their namesake in a new way.
You're always creative with the fights too, which is what makes it so fun to watch. One of my favorite parts is when yoshi grabs luigi with his tongue and spins around him, then sends him spinning like a top. That blew my mind!

As for the closeups, I have to agree with other users on this one. It's good to experiment, but I think the less you use vector drawings in this work, the better. The vector close ups seemed a little out of place and I think they diffuse tension rather than build it up as you may have intended.
Overall, amazing work. You need to get a team or something so you can pump these out more regularly.


People find this review helpful!

KyandorKyandor

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 9, 2009

Never cease to amaze me

Super Mario Bros Z just keeps getting better and better. Holy hell.

I'm still looking for some episode in which Luigi will save the day or just burst through an entire battle, though.

Anyway, a small suggestion: a bar at the top of the screen with a Play, Pause, Previous/Next Scene and Main Menu buttons. I accidentally clicked the Skip Scene button 3 times watching this.



lightninstriker10lightninstriker10

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 9, 2009

HELL YEAH

Great job as usual, nice with the whole flashback about shadow's motives, and i never knew a Koopatrol could be so lethal, and for god sakes, those close ups? totally, neccesary. i've never, even in official works, seen Shadow so pissed off before, great job, as said before, and as a request on behalf of all your fans, take as much time as neccesary with the next one.