Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2009 | 6:22 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 10, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 14, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

[UPDATE] Thanks for front page and Daily 1st again, people! It's good to know that people are still enjoying the series despite the delays.
Also, a special thank you to all those that have sent me donations. It's really helping me out. =)

[EDIT] Okay, with any luck all of the problems have been fixed now. Many of you may need to clear your browser cache in order to see the update. Chances are there are still some bugs I've missed, so if you find any, send me a PM.

Thanks ever so much to Tom Fulp for raising the upload limit for me. ^^
Wow. One year already, huh? Time sure flies when you're not having fun.
At least I didn't keep you guys waiting for 16 months this time. lulz!
Anywho, this episode has been the bane of my existence for the past few months. Trying to build up the motivation to work on it after all the stuff I've been through recently.
I experimented a lot with this episode. Mostly with Swift 3D for the Doomship and the hand drawn close ups. I did start using high res sprites for the close ups early on, but I later opted for vector drawings because they're clearer and quicker to make.
Back to the 3D stuff though, I am aware that the Doomship looks kinda primitive, but personally I kinda like it. It reminds me of the old Starfox game on the SNES. Plus I didn't like the idea of fully rendering it which would have made the file size skyrocket.
Anyways, I've kept you waiting long enough. Thanks to all those who have been patient and enjoy the latest episode of Super Mario bros Z!

Reviews


JessunflowerJessunflower

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 4, 2014

This series is genuinely brilliant and it's a shame that it's not being continued anymore. Well, that's not officially announced or anything as far as I know, but judging by the fact that it has been five years, and that the animator himself stated in this episode's description that creating it has been "the bane of his existence", it can only be assumed that he was slowly losing interest in the series entirely. This would explain the large gaps of time between each episode, and it seems as though that the legacy as slowly gone into a stop due to lack of motivation. However, I may be proven wrong, and we may still see a new episode even after lustrum (although I still feel that is highly unlikely).

But from what I have watched, I can say that Super Mario Bros. Z is truly a work of art. It was and still is a creative idea, put together by someone who has fairly high technical skill when it comes to animation and 'tinkering', let's say, with official game sprites. Of course, it is not perfect visually, because the different characters are from different games, but that lack of harmony is essentially unavoidable unless one were to do each sprite individually, so that everything would be in the same style and generally look better together (but that would surely take an eternity).

The story is amazing, and it constantly keeps me on my toes. Sometimes all the dialogue can drag on but it usually picks up quickly again with a clever joke or sarcastic remark. With that being said, the second scene with Shadow and Sonic is put together so well, making it what I think is the best scene in the entire series because of the emotion. It really does help that the characters have been portrayed perfectly and I can guarantee that if someone were to just simply read the dialogue, they wouldn't know that it was not canon, and in fact fan-made. Everyone is perfectly in character which is why I believe that is one of the reasons why this series has grown ever-so-popular.

Of course I— among many others— am hoping for another episode, but even if it does end here unfinished I can't say that I am not satisfied. The kind of humor and action that this series has is irreplaceable, especially if you have been following it since the first episode came out and have been part of the crowd that waited in agony for the next episodes to come out. We've been left with the mother of all cliffhangers, and if it had to end incompleted someday, I'm glad it ended here rather than anywhere else. From here our minds can take over and perhaps someone will create their own fan-made ending to this glorious fan-made animation.


People find this review helpful!

zxmzxm

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2014

for real this is the most great series i seen in my life please please please make the 9 and 10 and 11 and 12eps


People find this review helpful!

Stickman53Stickman53

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 8, 2014

Shadow dont love Rouge in scene 2. I am wrong or.. Rouge love KNUCKLES, AND KNUCKLES LOVE ROUGE!http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/513950/show_review_form/1



epicface3000epicface3000

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 4, 2014

PLZ MAKE EP. 9 I LOVE U DUDE =D


People find this review helpful!

RiykuRiyku

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2014

I rank it a five because the entire series is great. It brings me back to keep rewatching it, over and over. The story-line is so amazing and the part between Sonic and Shadow about Shadow's past with his love for Maria and now Rouge, it all fits perfectly together. It makes it feel like it's actually a part of the Sonic/Shadow Series of Sega. So good work and keep up the efforts i will be egarly awaiting the next episode.