Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2009 | 6:22 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 10, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 14, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

[UPDATE] Thanks for front page and Daily 1st again, people! It's good to know that people are still enjoying the series despite the delays.
Also, a special thank you to all those that have sent me donations. It's really helping me out. =)

[EDIT] Okay, with any luck all of the problems have been fixed now. Many of you may need to clear your browser cache in order to see the update. Chances are there are still some bugs I've missed, so if you find any, send me a PM.

Thanks ever so much to Tom Fulp for raising the upload limit for me. ^^
Wow. One year already, huh? Time sure flies when you're not having fun.
At least I didn't keep you guys waiting for 16 months this time. lulz!
Anywho, this episode has been the bane of my existence for the past few months. Trying to build up the motivation to work on it after all the stuff I've been through recently.
I experimented a lot with this episode. Mostly with Swift 3D for the Doomship and the hand drawn close ups. I did start using high res sprites for the close ups early on, but I later opted for vector drawings because they're clearer and quicker to make.
Back to the 3D stuff though, I am aware that the Doomship looks kinda primitive, but personally I kinda like it. It reminds me of the old Starfox game on the SNES. Plus I didn't like the idea of fully rendering it which would have made the file size skyrocket.
Anyways, I've kept you waiting long enough. Thanks to all those who have been patient and enjoy the latest episode of Super Mario bros Z!

Reviews


TrixiaoyuTrixiaoyu

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

I gave this submission a vote of "5"

Absolutely Amazing. Even the mighty Mind-Chamber agrees. Just WOW!



kevuukevuu

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

Wtf

You just reached a state called perfect with this flash movie. Its so awesome. I especially loved when Spnic and Mario were doing Street fighter moves .



SoulMaster71SoulMaster71

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

Not horrible, but not amazing.

This is going to be my hardest review yet, specifically because I'm trying to review this movie and only this one, but it's so tempting to try to make this a review of the whole series or even of the sprite animation style. That's probably one of the pitfalls of a series being the standard-bearer for the genre or the medium: anyone who isn't a fan is going to attack the series and its creator in some symbolic assault on the whole thing. So, onto the movie, shall we?

PROS:
The fight scenes aren't bad, for sprites. They're fast-moving, and other than being made with video game characters they could conceivably do justice to the DBZ originals by which they were inspired. The few moments of actual hand-drawn work was good, and the storyline isn't that bad for a DBZ ripoff. I also liked the use of SMB3 power-ups, especially given that as a setting Bowser's gunship is reminiscent, at least in idea, of the boss levels of SMB3. Oh, and occasionally the use of Luigi as a weapon was funny.

CONS:
This series lacks originality. Sonic is already close enough to Goku, Shadow to Vegeta, and the Chaos Emeralds to the Dragon Balls, Super Sonic/Shadow is no different from Super Saiyan, so just throw it in the Mushroom Kingdom and you've got a crossover fanfiction! But what's more important for the review, this episode merely follows Episodes 6 and 7, rather than building on them. The fight scene seemed barely if at all better than those in 6, same old Internet memes that I could hear after about five minutes on the BBS, same old stuff as always! With a truly great series like Brackenwood (the exact opposite of this in every way I can think of), the author builds on his skills and his story more and more in each episode while keeping the basic premise alive. You have neglected to do that. Instead you made this just another chapter, no better than the last, except for the 3D gunship (I'd like to see a bit more of that in the next ones!) and the hand-drawn close-ups.

OVERALL:
It's not much of an innovation compared to anything else in the series, except in the two added aspects I mentioned. But it's not horrible either, being about as good as video game parodies written to Dragon Ball Z fanfiction can get. Overall, it's only a bit above average.
3/5, 7/10, and I'm wondering if I should have done this on my impersonation alt.



IndigoFenixIndigoFenix

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

Definately the best sprite movie series ever made

It's been a long wait, but it sure was worth it! Your movies not only live up to their predecessors, they never fail to get even better with each new release! I can't begin to say what was the best part of this one - it was all-around perfect. Looking forward to the next episode. Keep it up, Alvin!



rossyboy919rossyboy919

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

Epicly epic!

The fight scenes in this movie make me smile and want to make something on pivot, and the sprites mix well with the new art to make for an exiting movie. Bravo, Alvin! But that cliffhangar annoyed the hell outa me.

DO A BARREL ROLL!