Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 8, 2009 | 2:57 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 9, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place October 14, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

eBay update: Mario Kart Blue Shell, Part two of my 3-part Nintendo themed series, is complete and on eBay (make sure to delete the space in the link): http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eB ayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item =320458239299&Category=60 442&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%
26its%3DI%26otn%3D1 Watch for a realistic Baby Metroid in the next few months!

Hello again Newgrounds! It had been a while since the last time I used Flash but I decided to revisit it to create a making-of video of my realistic Piranha Plant sculpture for youtube. The video proved to be quite popular (133,336 views in a little over two weeks and five stars) so I brought it back to its native format (with less of a loss in image quality in key parts). If you have seen the youtube video, this one has two shots of my teething baby Piranha Plant as well, together with mama before it got it's own pot.

It was fun to sculpt this as I pulled off a few successful experiments to get the inside of the mouth to look just gummy enough. Took me a while to finish it, particularly because of the design choice I made for the mouth structure, but it paid off in the end. I wanted the plant to look as if it really existed and the Mario version was a simplified cartoon version based off of it.

Please send all inquiries concerning this original piece to [email protected]
Currently accepting commissions in various mediums.

Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Kalapu sa
For more photos and other pieces, visit:
http://www.flickr.com/pho tos/22648291@N03/sets/
http://kalapusa.deviantar t.com/
http://www.facebook.com/k alapusa

Music: Super Mario Bros. 2 'SuperBuckJazz' - OverClocked ReMix by Estradasphere

Reviews


gamerdude99gamerdude99

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 3, 2010

i would buy one from u

for 1- 150$ plz sell on ebay or something! btw very realistic gums!



Jester323Jester323

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2010

Mass produce these things

and you'll be riiiiiiich.

I'd kill to have one of these things. Being hand made however puts it out of my price range I'm sure :(



deadrain137deadrain137

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2010

Now dont wimp..

Aubout pirana plants being suckish opponents cuz that is what they look like in the real world!



mitchbeijingmitchbeijing

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 30, 2010

Simply amazing

The detail was superb and what amazed me the most i think was the realism of the gums of it. It truly looked wet and covered in saliva, you have a wonderful talent! Great job, and I agree with "poznan64" about making a "Mario". You should sell these on ebay, Im sure you'd make a pretty penny.



IkittIkitt

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 29, 2010

I want one!

HOW MUCH!?