Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 8, 2009 | 2:57 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 9, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place October 14, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

eBay update: Mario Kart Blue Shell, Part two of my 3-part Nintendo themed series, is complete and on eBay (make sure to delete the space in the link): http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eB ayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item =320458239299&Category=60 442&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%
26its%3DI%26otn%3D1 Watch for a realistic Baby Metroid in the next few months!

Hello again Newgrounds! It had been a while since the last time I used Flash but I decided to revisit it to create a making-of video of my realistic Piranha Plant sculpture for youtube. The video proved to be quite popular (133,336 views in a little over two weeks and five stars) so I brought it back to its native format (with less of a loss in image quality in key parts). If you have seen the youtube video, this one has two shots of my teething baby Piranha Plant as well, together with mama before it got it's own pot.

It was fun to sculpt this as I pulled off a few successful experiments to get the inside of the mouth to look just gummy enough. Took me a while to finish it, particularly because of the design choice I made for the mouth structure, but it paid off in the end. I wanted the plant to look as if it really existed and the Mario version was a simplified cartoon version based off of it.

Please send all inquiries concerning this original piece to kalapusa@aratamedia.com
Currently accepting commissions in various mediums.

Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Kalapu sa
For more photos and other pieces, visit:
http://www.flickr.com/pho tos/22648291@N03/sets/
http://kalapusa.deviantar t.com/
http://www.facebook.com/k alapusa

Music: Super Mario Bros. 2 'SuperBuckJazz' - OverClocked ReMix by Estradasphere

Reviews


mehman11mehman11

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 19, 2011

damn son

that shits awesome. nice work



lonersgalorelonersgalore

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 21, 2011

Awesome!

Absolutely awesome work! I had wondered how you got all those little wrinkles on your Pac-Man one, but never did it occur to me that you used tin foil! That's amazing!


Kalapusa responds:

Actually, I did them all by hand. :} The tin foil is just to fill in space (conserves clay and prevents cracking during the bake).


fox-noobfox-noob

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 9, 2011

holy shnike

do not make the mistake of watching this while stoned off ur ass,,, it will not end well



BaGGeFuDDaBaGGeFuDDa

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2010

Great stuff

Uuuh i need this for my Home :D



KlocktoothKlocktooth

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2010

Now what blows my mind out of the freakin water...

...Is how you got the gums and teeth in such detail. Seriously, though, disturbingly realistic work! Good on you!