Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 7, 2009 | 4:24 PM EDT
  • Underdog of the Week October 14, 2009
  • Daily 5th Place October 8, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This experience draws from some particularly strong influences in my life--mainly Yertle the Turtle. I hope you'll take a moment to reflect on the impressions you feel in both body and mind while playing this game.

Reviews


TheReviewGuyTheReviewGuy

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2009

Yertle who?

I have no clue what or who Yertle the Turtle is, but this game was actually quite fun. While it lasted. It's an interesting idea to have all those movement shifts and colour changes. The spontaneity of it was actually quite intriguing.

However, I do feel the difficulty progressed a little too fast and hence the play time of this game was very very low. It was over very fast mainly because you didn't quite stretch it out for what it was worth. Sure, you can sometimes stretch it a bit too much and then make something utterly boring, but this was on the other end of the scale. The progression was far too quick and before I knew it, it became too difficult to even maneuver properly.

You may not want to necessarily slow down every element in the game. For example, I think the rate at which the block directions change can remain, but the rate at which new colours are added is far too high. In a matter of seconds, I've got so many new colours on the screen that the colours I can collect are only 1 or 2 boxes. And by the time i maneuver my way to them, my own colour has changed.

The concept of this game is very sound. But it just moves by way to quick. It's rushed almost and I didn't get to enjoy it as much as I wanted to. Take the time to gradually introduce things. Don't have something new every five seconds or something. And that's especially once the difficulty gets harder. You might want to let that level of difficulty settle a little bit before moving onward.

Has great potential, but as of now, it's limited itself to barely a minute of fun.


People find this review helpful!
domreinalabaster responds:

Before I properly respond, here's a link to Yertle the Turtle.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yertle_t he_Turtle_and_Other_Stories
Like many of Dr. Seuss's other works, it's a political/social commentary. This one happens to be about Hitler. You'll be a better person for reading it and considering how it applies to both the past and present.
Anyways, thanks for the thoughtful analysis. I agree that the difficulty ramps up quickly, but it was designed so after testing it with several people who thought it moved too slowly. The game is also designed to be replayable. Hope you'll give it another go.


lightcaster08lightcaster08

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2009

Great job

I had fun. I got first place! ^^
8,255,733!

I probably could've gotten more, but my mouse isn't exactly perfect for this type of game. :/



PSYCHOJIM57PSYCHOJIM57

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2009

Just great...

Game play is simple, but gets difficult after a while, really addictive. The music sounds great. Worth a 10/10 to me.



losser12345losser12345

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2009

great game

its really great i cant stop playing it im in first today and in third for all



TheGuyGuyTheGuyGuy

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 7, 2009

It's a good game.

But it gets too boring or fustrating. I give 9/10 for the quality, 6/10 for the fun.


People find this review helpful!
domreinalabaster responds:

Yeah, I think that's all the Yertle the Turtle coming through.