Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 22, 2009 | 3:51 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place September 23, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place September 23, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I haven't done a movie in years, so for Madness Day 2009, I created this tribute for the series. Animated @ 60 fps.

Reviews


jellywilliamjellywilliam

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 2, 2009

little

200 is not a big number



GwarMuffinstienGwarMuffinstien

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars October 2, 2009

Interesting concept... but...

I know I'm not the first person to raise this issue, but this isn't really madness. I won't relist everything everyone else has posted, because "poisyn" pretty much summed it up for me.

The dark, psuedo-rendered art style is interesting, but as some folks said, it seemed to be more fit for a sidescroller than a movie, and would recomend doing that.

But that said, besides the "Not-Madness factor" and the "Should be a Game, not Movie" dealie, my biggest complaint actually is the art style. While cool looking, the stumpy character designs (I want to say almost like Japanese Chibi style, but only in proportions) coupled with the general messiness of the actual texture style makes it difficult to pick out characters and motion, especially considering the way you filled the screen with generic baddies, much less appreciate said action.

I'm certain I'm not the only one who lost track of Hank once or twice, just because he of the sheer number of badguys and neon-red animation effects. I almost want to say that the harsh, dark textures were sorta ugly (not Hank ugly. Hank's just got the whole problem of being something akin to undead... ish..ness... I mean ugly ugly, like, "My eyes are burning!" ugly), especially when coupled with the special effects.

All in all, it has the potential to be cool, and I would say if you do a sequel (which I hope you do, because you definitely had a good idea here and I hope you revisit it, maybe as your own story or game idea instead of Madness), lay off on all the special effects, soften up those textures, or give us some better contrasting patterns so we can make out the characters and action better.

Oh, and also, don't reuse the same screams so many times. It was borderline annoying to hear that near constant "AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!" whenever somebody got hit or died. People can die with a gurgle, or a grunt, or a oomph... hell, depending on the injuries they sustain, they can even die instantly and not get a chance to scream. Add some variety in there man! Same goes for the effects too. Not every person who Hank punches has to break the sound barrier and scream off into the distance or a wall.

Anyway, that's the end of my bitching. Once, again, I encourage you to seriously revisit usning this style and design concept in the future... it does have the potential to be seriously cool.


People find this review helpful!

PARANO1APARANO1A

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 2, 2009

Really Cool!

Good action! I like it!
But it's not a game...
We'd like to play it like a game...
Almost all of us!
Really.



kopibriankopibrian

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 2, 2009

argh

arghh fucking screamer



AssymetrixAssymetrix

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 2, 2009

hmm

rather than madness this felt like devil may cry

well still nice :D